mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
N
N3M3S1S Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
N
Well I'm nearing the end of my current mIRC project (after 9 months of work its nearly done!) and I will be needing a new project! So I'm thinking about branching out into a new programming language, I have been writing mIRC scripts for over 10 years now and will be writing more mIRC scripts in the future. Khaled if your out there PLEASE COMMENT

But I've been having this itch to do something different, and I've been looking into various things. Then I decided what I wanted to do. I am going to attempt to make an IRC client, probably just for fun, I doubt it will be better than mIRC, but I've been looking over different programming languages (C/C++, python, perl etc.) and I decided that I want to learn the programming language that made mIRC what it is today!

So does anyone happen to know what programming language that is?

(Please excuse my n00bness, I haven't ventured much into programming outside of MSL)

Last edited by N3M3S1S; 24/09/10 08:19 AM.

"There is no theory of evolution, only a list of creatures Chuck Norris allows to live."
D
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
D
pretty sure it's C/C++

If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
H
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
H

A
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
A
Originally Posted By: N3M3S1S
Then I decided what I wanted to do. I am going to attempt to make an IRC client

Oh god.

probably just for fun

It won't be much fun, especially if you use C/C++.

I decided that I want to learn the programming language that made mIRC what it is today!

No you don't.

If it's your first real programming language, pick something that at least does memory management and has decent IDE support, otherwise you will be shooting yourself in the foot within minutes. C isn't a good starter language, C++ is even worse.