mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Page 19 of 23 < 1 2 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 >
Topic Options
#214621 - 09/08/09 08:48 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: gr8daddy]
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
A quick search for Karaoke-realm would've brought up a number of recent topics, which, after reading, would've told you that, yes, karaoke-realm is down.
It appears that they failed to renew their hosting access.

Top
#214642 - 10/08/09 10:32 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: RusselB]
lexor4 Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 04/08/09
Posts: 10
All the people from karaoke realm have gone to www.karaokeworld.co.uk you will find all your friends there

Top
#215486 - 19/09/09 08:33 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat]
ffiter Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 19/09/09
Posts: 1
All of a sudden I'm getting this error, and cannot log on using any server.

AUTO [1] Infected with a virus or trojan, please clean your system. Cleaner @ http://www.moosoft.com (P12).

Do I really have a virus or trojan, or is this caused by some cookie or something? I certainly find it suspicious that I'm being directed to a site wanting me to purchase a "cleaner.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Top
#215492 - 20/09/09 01:15 AM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ffiter]
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
This is usually triggered by someone with the same or a similar IP address (eg: same provider) being infected
Eg: If JJJ using IP xxx.xxx.yyy.zzz is infected and your IP address is aaa.bbb.yyy.zzz then you might be presumed to be infected.

While you are directed to a site that offers a purchasable version, there is a Download link directly underneath it (I just opened the site) where you can download a free version.

It would help to determine if this is literally coming from the server, or if someone is trying to spam/force you to purchase from that site, if you could provide an exact quote of the message, including the nick/name of the sender.

Even server notices contain this information.

Top
#216212 - 02/11/09 12:40 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat]
jerry_doggie Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 02/11/09
Posts: 2
Hi i have encounter some problem in connecting MRIC

Below is the problem;

Connecting to irc.galaxynet.org (6667)
-
-irc.galaxynet.org- *** Looking up your hostname
-
-irc.galaxynet.org- *** Checking for ident server
-
-irc.galaxynet.org- *** Found your hostname
-
-irc.galaxynet.org- *** No identification response
-
global messaging of porn/sex sites and abusive users.
-
Closing Link: long[bbxxx-xxx-xxx-xxx.singnet.com.sg] by ipergy.eu.galaxynet.org (K-lined)
-
* Disconnected

How do i resolve this problem?

thanks

Top
#216246 - 04/11/09 03:48 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: jerry_doggie]
Roetger Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser

Registered: 04/11/09
Posts: 6
Hey,

I've been unable to connect to any server on Irc

this is an example of what i get, each time i try to connect to a server

(16:45:17) * Connecting to irc.utonet.org (6667)
(16:45:17) -bender.us.utonet.org- *** Looking up your hostname...
(16:45:17) -bender.us.utonet.org- *** Checking ident...
(16:45:23) -bender.us.utonet.org- *** Couldn't resolve your hostname; using your IP address instead
(16:45:27) -bender.us.utonet.org- *** No ident response; username prefixed with ~
(16:45:28) -bender.us.utonet.org- *** If you are having problems connecting due to ping timeouts, please type /quote pong 1349C402 or /raw pong 1349C402 now.
(16:45:28) * Roetger sets mode: +ix
(16:45:28) -Global- [Logon News - Sep 03 2007] Welcome to UtoNet! Questions or problems should be directed to the server help channel -- #UtoNet.Help
(16:45:28) * Disconnected
* Remote is on (Ctcps,Events,Raw)

i have this problem since 3 months, it always worked, i didnt do anything to my computer, just dont know what to do

can someone please help me out?

Roetger.

Top
#216447 - 15/11/09 06:33 AM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: Roetger]
S2Samurai Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 15/11/09
Posts: 1
I am also having the same problem when i want to connect to the channel for finding scrims for CS, it wont let me i typed in /join #findscrim and it tells me cannot join the server. But it works fine on /join #findringer it just doesn't connect for finding scrims. So can someone help me plzz.

Top
#216943 - 24/12/09 07:32 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat]
Kalena Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 24/12/09
Posts: 1
I am attempting to register with a username and registration # I already have from before my computer crashed. I can only get to the page where it asks for money when it's already been paid for. Where do I go to do this?

thanks,

Kalena

Top
#217003 - 27/12/09 03:24 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: Kalena]
5618 Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 18/06/07
Posts: 933
Try typing /registration in mIRC.

Top
#217418 - 11/01/10 09:21 AM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: 5618]
adolfi Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 11/01/10
Posts: 1
I haven't used karaoke for a while and when I try to connect I get the message-

"Connecting to irc.realmworld.net (6667)

Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)"

Am I doing something wrong?

Need help.

Thanks

Top
#217438 - 11/01/10 11:29 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: adolfi]
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Realmworld is closed. Doing a search for Realmworld will bring up a number of posts regarding this, and some of them also give references to other locations where some of the people that were on Realmworld have moved to.

Top
#217454 - 12/01/10 05:33 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat]
doradoll Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 12/01/10
Posts: 3
I'm on mIRC V6.35 and keeping getting this error message:

* Connecting to irc.acidchat.net (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)

I've tried changing ports and increasing the time before mIRC retries to 180 seconds but they've not helped. I've also tried connecting to different servers with the same problem, and using the IP address of the servers I want to connect to. It must be to do with being on my uni network connection as I had this problem before, it was fixed when I went back home, and now it's returned.

What aren't I doing to fix this!?

Top
#217455 - 12/01/10 06:50 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: doradoll]
argv0 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/03
Posts: 3918
Loc: Montreal, QC, Canada
If it's your university network it means they're blocking that host and there's not much you can do. Note that unless you're on a 14.4 dialup modem, a TCP connection should be made within 5 seconds (to the first server response, not full connection) or it won't be made at all. Upping the timeout to 180 seconds and attempting to wait it out will just be a waste of your time.

The only real way to deal with your uni network is to connect via a proxy or bnc, but those will generally cost you, and we do not support or condone bypassing network firewalls to gain irc connectivity. I would suggest talking to a network admin at your university and ask them why your connection is being refused; they will be able to definitively answer whether the network prohibits connections to that host (and why, if you're lucky).
_________________________
- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"

Top
#217456 - 12/01/10 07:28 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: argv0]
doradoll Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 12/01/10
Posts: 3
Is it likely they'd be blocking all hosts, or all irc connections?

Top
#217477 - 13/01/10 06:24 AM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: doradoll]
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
They may be blocking certain ports, especially during class times, but those ports might be opened when classes are not in session.

The best place to get the correct information is the IT department.

If you don't know where that is, go to the main office and ask. As a student at the university you have the right to inquire of any department that affects your ability to live on campus at the university.

Top
#217505 - 14/01/10 11:11 AM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: RusselB]
doradoll Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 12/01/10
Posts: 3
Yeah okay, I was just asking because it seems odd they'd block irc when they've left ports for bittorrent programs open & dont seem to monitor any other shit. But I'll ask and find out.

Top
#217513 - 14/01/10 01:52 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: doradoll]
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: MA, USA
Oh, I can just about guarantee they monitor it all even if they don't do anything about it. When I was at college, they knew that I was in the top 20 for bandwidth usage on the campus, but never complained about it. smile

IRC tends to get blocked more often than protocols that you might expect to be blocked at colleges and universities. I'm not entirely sure why that is other than perhaps they just don't want the "chat" options available (they tend to block IM clients a lot as well) but don't necessarily care about downloading. It's not unusual. Be happy that you still have access to those other protocols.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#219804 - 29/03/10 08:51 PM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat]
RayGo75 Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 29/03/10
Posts: 1
Loc: New Jersey/Florida
I think this is a problem with the servers I am trying to connect to but thought I would ask here just to make sure.
OS: Windows Vista or Ubuntu 9.10
mIRC version 6.35
I am trying to connect to the fdfnet servers and I get the following 2 errors:
bethere.fdfnet.net returns (Connection timed out)
ibusy.fdfnet.net returns (Connection refused)
If I try another network I connect right away. Is there something else I can try?
I can ping these servers with no problem but traceroute seems to have been removed from vista so I can not get a traceroute to check if that is the problem.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
_________________________
We can not change the direction of the wind, we can only adjust our sails

Top
#219810 - 30/03/10 01:20 AM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: RayGo75]
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: MA, USA
You're using tracert, right? It should work fine in Vista. In any case, if you can't connect to those 2 servers, but can connect to others, then it's an issue on the network. You have a couple of options. Try using a different port when connecting to them (instead of 6667, use 6669 for example). Or, you can try connecting to the servers using their IP addresses. There are a variety of lookup sites that can give you the IP of those servers (try google). Or, you can try a different server on that network.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#219839 - 31/03/10 08:54 AM Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat]
fanyu2712 Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 31/03/10
Posts: 1
i cant connect to irc.whatnet.org in Window 7

Connecting to irc.whatnet.org (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection refused)
-

Can some one help me with this ?

Thank you

Top
Page 19 of 23 < 1 2 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 >