mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
focus option - script editor #219498 20/03/10 03:59 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
When you have the mIRC script editor in focus (it is not on the desktop) and that you change the active application (mIRC > firefox) and go back to mIRC again, the script editor loose the focus, this is annoying
I would like to see an option for the editor so that it keep the focus in this case.


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219523 21/03/10 12:33 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
This is on win7, I can't reproduce this on window xp so it might be win7.


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219524 21/03/10 12:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
This has been true since either mIRC 6.35 was released or perhaps one of the last couple of versions. Whether it's related to OS or not, I'm not sure, but I know it's been true since mIRC changed versions because I noticed it at that time. I mentioned it then too, but nothing was done to change that.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219530 21/03/10 04:45 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
I can't reproduce this on win7, mIRC makes the script editor the active window here.

Also, why is this posted in feature suggestions?


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: argv0] #219533 21/03/10 07:08 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
T
Tomao Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Originally Posted By: argv0
Also, why is this posted in feature suggestions?
Most likely Wims thought this "focusing behavior" was lost and would like it reinstated.

Re: focus option - script editor [Re: argv0] #219535 21/03/10 01:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
Quote:
Also, why is this posted in feature suggestions?
I'm making a suggestion since I don't consider this as a bug.
If you can't reproduce this on 7, it might not be os related, but I don't know why we don't have the same behavior.

Both 7 and xp are 32bit, and mIRC is 6.35 for me


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: argv0] #219538 21/03/10 02:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Originally Posted By: argv0
I can't reproduce this on win7, mIRC makes the script editor the active window here.


Focus on script editor, ALT-TAB to something else or change to something else in another way, ALT-TAB (or whatever) back to mIRC. Try typing. You should now be typing in the edit bar instead of the script editor. As I said, I've seen this since one of the recent mIRC versions (I still think it was 6.35).


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Riamus2] #219541 21/03/10 02:56 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
Quote:
As I said, I've seen this since one of the recent mIRC versions (I still think it was 6.35).
Yeah, but I'm unable to reproduce it on my window xp with a clean install of mIRC 6.35 and argv0 stated (not sure he tried with a clean install) the same on win7


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219543 21/03/10 03:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 218
V
vexed2 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
V
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 218
I can't reproduce this on Windows 7 (x64) either.

Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219545 21/03/10 03:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Originally Posted By: Wims
Yeah, but I'm unable to reproduce it on my window xp with a clean install of mIRC 6.35 and argv0 stated (not sure he tried with a clean install) the same on win7


In that case, it narrows it down to a settings change in either mIRC 6.35 or a recent version that causes it and which some people have set one way and some have set another way. For me, I saw it start happening as soon as mIRC was updated, so it's not some change in settings anywhere else. It would have to be a change in mIRC that either "conflicts" with some setting somewhere else in the system that didn't previously or else it's a setting in mIRC that can be changed allowing some people to experience it and others not to.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219554 21/03/10 08:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
IMHO if this was changed without a note in versions.txt regarding the explicit behavioural change, I would consider it a bug.

When you mean "focus" do you mean focus in the editbox field of the script editor? Or just the window itself? The window reappears for me but the editbox is not active, if that's what you mean.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: argv0] #219557 21/03/10 08:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
The editbox of the editor in focus like I was saying with my example of how to duplicate the behavior. I'm pretty sure that's what the OP was referring to as well. Basically, so that you can edit the script, tab over to something else (maybe the help file), tab back and continue editing without having to click on the script editor to do so.

Maybe "focus" isn't the best wording. Having the script editor Active after switch between programs if it was active before the switch.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: argv0] #219558 21/03/10 09:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
first, focus is on the mIRC script editor's editbox, where you write a code, then when you switch to another program and come back to mIRC, the focus is on the $active window's editbox.
This is what I get on win7.
On xp, focus didn't change, I'm still able to type a code.
Not sure if it is a bug, but the fact that the behavior is not the same for everyone is odd.

Last edited by Wims; 21/03/10 10:03 PM.

Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219560 21/03/10 09:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
I am seeing intermittent behaviour on both XP and Windows 7. As far as I can tell, mIRC is not changing the focus when the main window is activated - it is left up to Windows to decide which window should be activated. I should be able to add a special check that resets the focus on the Script Editor if it was active when mIRC last lost focus. I'll see what I can do.

Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Khaled] #219561 21/03/10 10:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
Thank you wink


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: focus option - script editor [Re: Wims] #219584 22/03/10 01:20 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 218
V
vexed2 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
V
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 218
I put the cursor in to the script editor, with the | flashing as if i was ready to type, I ALT + TAB to Firefox and then back to mIRC, the | isn't there to carry on typing with but the script editor is on top, or in focus. But if you do it by using your mouse to go to Firefox and back to mIRC, the | is still flashing ready to type. So it's only a key combo that does it.

Last edited by vexed2; 22/03/10 01:21 PM.