mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#216933 24/12/09 12:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
S
swood Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
S
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Ok so i want to join 3 IRC channels from 3 different sites which i have a different username for each.

Can someone post a step by step guide on how to do this. I want it so that they both channels appear on start up and both have the correct usernames already configured. I already have one channel set up. I just want the other 2

I'm useless with computers so please explain fully and add pictures if you can

Thanks a billion in advance

Last edited by swood; 24/12/09 12:34 PM.
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
X
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
X
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
If by 3 different sites you mean servers, that's doable, otherwise, it's not because you can have only one nick on one server.

Here's what I use for my registered nickname

Code:
on *:START: {
  server irc.server1.com
nick nick1
  server -m irc.server2.com
nick nick2
  server -m irc.server3.com
nick nick3
}

on *:NOTICE:This nickname*:*: if ($nick == NickServ) ns identify mypasswordgoeshere

on *: NOTICE:Password accepted*:*: {
  if ($network == network1) join #Channel1
  if ($network == network2) join #Channel2
  if ($network == network3) join #Channel3
}


Now, you would have to fill out some info by yourself such as irc.server1.com, nick1, network1 etc...

Copy this code, open mIRC, hit Alt + R, if window isn't empty, click File - New and paste this code. Click OK. Restart your mIRC.

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
S
swood Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
S
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Originally Posted By: XperTeeZ
If by 3 different sites you mean servers, that's doable, otherwise, it's not because you can have only one nick on one server.

Here's what I use for my registered nickname

Code:
on *:START: {
  server irc.server1.com
nick nick1
  server -m irc.server2.com
nick nick2
  server -m irc.server3.com
nick nick3
}

on *:NOTICE:This nickname*:*: if ($nick == NickServ) ns identify mypasswordgoeshere

on *: NOTICE:Password accepted*:*: {
  if ($network == network1) join #Channel1
  if ($network == network2) join #Channel2
  if ($network == network3) join #Channel3
}


Now, you would have to fill out some info by yourself such as irc.server1.com, nick1, network1 etc...

Copy this code, open mIRC, hit Alt + R, if window isn't empty, click File - New and paste this code. Click OK. Restart your mIRC.


Thanks for the reply but i have no idea what that is. I didn't do that for the first server channel thing i configured. I added a server and then configured its setting and enter stuff in the perform box. I hate technology

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
X
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
X
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Lol, no problem, we all started from the beginning, right?

You see this code I gave you in box?
Well, you are supposed to place that code in mIRC Scripts Editor, which can be found in Tools menu: Tools - Scripts Editor. In Scripts Editor, click File - New, and paste this code I gave you:

Quote:
on *:START: {
server irc.server1.com
nick nick1
server -m irc.server2.com
nick nick2
server -m irc.server3.com
nick nick3
}

on *:NOTICE:This nickname*:*: if ($nick == NickServ) ns identify mypasswordgoeshere

on *: NOTICE:Password accepted*:*: {
if ($network == network1) join #Channel1
if ($network == network2) join #Channel2
if ($network == network3) join #Channel3
}


You may have noticed red parts. These you will have to edit yourself with specific info. So nick1 would be your username on server1, nick2 for server2 etc... If you are still unable to solve this, just post down your servers and your nicks you want to connect to on mIRC startup.

Last edited by XperTeeZ; 24/12/09 03:40 PM.
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
Please be advised that this authentication will only work for server who support nickserv and this syntax.

on *:NOTICE:This nickname*:*: if ($nick == NickServ) ns identify mypasswordgoeshere

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
I don't have mIRC here to check the help file, but I believe you can also use -i to set the nick right on the /server line...

Code:
server irc.server1.net -i nick1
server -m irc.server2.net -i nick2
server -m irc.server3.net -i nick3


If you don't have to identify to nickserv, or if you don't mind identifying after joining the channels, you can use -j as well, which can really shorten your script.

Code:
server irc.server1.net -i nick1 -j #chan1,#chan2
server -m irc.server2.net -i nick2 -j #chan3
server -m irc.server3.net -i nick3 -j #chan4,#chan5,#chan6



Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
X
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
X
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
This is true, and I'm aware of those switches myself, as I constantly use them, but I wanted to make code easier for the "Mr. noob" as he called himself that way wink

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Makes sense. smile


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Link Copied to Clipboard