mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
Hi i have a flash chat room on my site www.tormented.tv/chat.php
However the room name of our channel is #chat18+
I guess forsome reason it ignores the "+" at the end and sends all the users to #chat18 and of course thats just no good lol...
So i have played around with this and cant seem to find a way around it. The admin say i cant do it...but i just dont believe that i cant do anything to get it to work

This is how my chat code looks

Code:
<div id="container">
<div id="html1" style="position:absolute; overflow:hidden; left:40px; top:194px; width:720px; height:601px; z-index:0">
<a id="ewclink" href="http://www.loveyourmyspace.com/"></a><br /><script src="http://www.everywherechat.com/e.php?defaultRoom=chat18+ &roomList=false&fontSize=12&width=720&height=500"></script></div>

 


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
try doing the + as %2B in the URL

no idea if it accepts that but + in URL's is normally used to replace spaces (in some encoding methods) which might screw things up.


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 127
J
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
J
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 127
EDIT: nvm. This isn't a mIRC question is it?

Last edited by Joe_Dean; 21/10/08 03:16 PM.
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
Well i think that it kinda fits...It might not be directly related to the software but really most of these scripts are not. I just simply cannot seem to figure out what needs to be done for me to be able to get my chat working again and i seem to have found out where all the really helpful people are (HERE) so i am trying to get my questions answered...Everywhere else is like aol tech support....worthless smile

That code didnt work btw.... It says chat18 $ $chr(43) $ in the chat box where it should say #chat18+


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 127
J
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
J
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 127
It wouldn't because your goal isn't related to mIRC.

I figured you were working with a socket script or something, so the $chr() identifier will not work because all you're trying to do is fix some HTML (which really has nothing to do with mIRC unless it involves sockets).

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
ok so let me ask you this....Is there a way to use something else? Is there a basic java irc chat script or something that i can choose what server/port and channels to use ? I honestly dont know what to do? Do you think that i will never be able to have this chat room on my site?


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,031
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,031

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
Thanks , Not sure im gonna be able to figure that out tho. If anyone can come up with a fix i would greatly apprecate it, Im sure im not the first to have this problem and wont be the last


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
chat18 $ $chr(43) $

Are you missing the +?

chat18 $+ $chr(43) $+ <...the rest>

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
yes when i chant the code to use that line like

Code:
 



<script src="http://www.everywherechat.com/e.php?defaultRoom=chat18 $+ $chr(43) $+&roomList=false&fontSize=12&width=720&height=500"></script>






It only shows this in the chat window box that should just say #chat18+
It says
chat18 $ $chr(43) $

and the blank spaces are exactly how it looks frown

This might be dumb but could a small java script be made to simply place the channel name in that box and then i could leave the channel name in the code blank ?


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
$+&roomList=false&font

You are missing a space. Let;s see the code that generated this url please.

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
This is my script with the changed code as told
Code:
 


<div id="container">
<div id="html1" style="position:absolute; overflow:hidden; left:40px; top:194px; width:720px; height:601px; z-index:0">
<a id="ewclink" href="http://www.loveyourmyspace.com/"></a>
<script src="http://www.everywherechat.com/e.php?defaultRoom=chat18 $+ $chr(43) $+&roomList=false&fontSize=12&width=720&height=500"></script></div>









You can see the results of this by going to my chat page on my site and looking at whats listed in the room name area of the login box
I just simply need it to say only " chat18+ " frown

www.tormented.tv/chat.php



Last edited by ToRmEnTeD; 23/10/08 01:47 AM.

Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
you were answered in the very first response to this post. use %2B instead of + in your url:

http://www.everywherechat.com/e.php?defaultRoom=chat18%2B&roomList=false&fontSize=12&width=720&height=500


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
This is the result of adding the string you sudgested.
Code:
 


<div id="container">
<div id="html1" style="position:absolute; overflow:hidden; left:40px; top:194px; width:720px; height:601px; z-index:0">
<a id="ewclink" href="http://www.loveyourmyspace.com/"></a><br /><script src="http://www.everywherechat.com/e.php?defaultRoom=chat18%2B&roomList=false&fontSize=12&width=720&height=500"></script></div>







I did try it. the results can be seen on my chat page now...
it simply says chat18 still no + sign


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
So could someone explain to me any other way to somewhat easily get my irc room back on my site without using this code/chat software? Something else? the one guy posted a link but i just simply dont understand it ..greek to me. Im not a newb but when it comes to decompilers and stuff i really am clueless.
Anything else open source and easy ?


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,031
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,031

Rename your channel #chat18plus. wink

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 102
lol yeah thats about what the admin on the server said....Its ok i just ended up getting that java chat to work..seems ok i guess. At least i have my chat working again
thanks for all the efforts


Rock and Metal Music videos ON DEMAND!
<<<<<< http://www.tormented.tv >>>>>>

Link Copied to Clipboard