#201955 10/07/08 03:00 PM
S
Solo1 Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
S
Hi
I am trying to parse an irc server reply. How would i use a regular expression to get the nick and the nicks address in $address(nick,2) format from the line below?

:nick!nick@hhx-48524CF5.dyn.optonline.net

Thanks

Solo1 #201956 10/07/08 03:05 PM
S
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
S
If I'm understanding you correctly there's no need to use regular expressions for this.

Code:
var %address = :nick!nick@hhx-48524CF5.dyn.optonline.net

; for the nickname
$right($gettok(%address, 1, 33), -1)

; for the masked address
$mask(%address, 2)

Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Solo1 #201980 11/07/08 05:23 AM
T
Ameglian cow
Ameglian cow
T
I think he wanted regex.

I am just learning regex but what your looking for is going ro be a $regex call that uses () to tell it which two items to store in $regml's to be grabbed.
For instance:

//echo -a $regex(test,:nick!nick@hhx-48524CF5.dyn.optonline.net,/:(.+)!.+@(.+)/i) $regml(test,1) $regml(test,2)

will return 1 nick hhx-48524CF5.dyn.optonline.net

As I said, I am new to regex, that when echoed works just fine but it may not when u attempt to use the idea. I just wanted to show what it is I thought the OP wanted to see.

I've gone to look for myself. If I should return before I get back, please keep me here.
Typos #201982 11/07/08 07:15 AM
A
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
A
It's one thing to want a specific solution, it's another not to know that there is a simpler solution. In this case I'd have to guess that the OP isn't aware that regex simply isn't necessary, so just because they say they "want regex" doesn't mean they *actually* "want regex". I would highly recommend using a simple $gettok over a complex $regex in this situation- it's not only hundreds of times more efficient but it's easier to use and maintain.

- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
argv0 #201985 11/07/08 10:48 AM