mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
splay problems #193532 20/01/08 07:48 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
W
WideOpenSpace Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
W
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
err to cut story to short :P

i have sound player in my global script.
and ok it plays all well and when i press STOP
button in dialog i have this for event: /splay -p stop

now, when i start mirc and my (global) script loads
i have as startup to play sound

so its /splay %startup-sound (the sound path and file is defined in variable)
----

MY PROBLEM:
the script on startup plays startup sound
AND continues to play music that was las played in player

i use mirc 6.21, so is this some mirc bug or
is there something i can do to prevent this coz its realy annoying...



The harder I chase my dreams the more I experience the time for smiles and tears...
Re: splay problems [Re: WideOpenSpace] #193662 23/01/08 04:26 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
W
WideOpenSpace Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
W
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
anyone ? :P


The harder I chase my dreams the more I experience the time for smiles and tears...
Re: splay problems [Re: WideOpenSpace] #193678 23/01/08 11:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 503
B
Bekar Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 503
mIRC doesn't have the ability to do what you are saying in-built, so this means you're using some script to do it for you.

It would appear that nobody recognizes what that script is from the description you've thus far given, so...

What script are you using, and have you talked to it's creator about this issue?

If you can't contact them, then follow these guidelines to try narrow down the section of code, then post the relevant portions here that you are having issues with.

Re: splay problems [Re: Bekar] #193719 24/01/08 03:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
W
WideOpenSpace Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
W
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
actualy i think problem is due to some change in mirc versions over time

global script was made for version 5.2 and there is NO
conflict in this what i said.

but in mirc 6.1x and above there is.

thats why i ask if there is something additional to /splay
i can do.

i tried the switch that "stops" queued sounds being played
except current one (for startup sound) but it ignores it
and still plays startup sound and the song from player
even tho as i said in 1st post for startup there is
only /splay for startup sound specifited (file)

so why the heck mirc plays 2 sounds at 1 time then ?

the ON START event is NOT related to this music player at all
in any possible case and i realy cant see logic in this problem.


The harder I chase my dreams the more I experience the time for smiles and tears...
Re: splay problems [Re: WideOpenSpace] #194883 13/02/08 05:47 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 41
D
Damsulegna Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 41
I had similar problem with my ON START and ON CONNECT sound bites.
Only resolve i came up with was to use .wav and not .mp3.

Seems to have stopped my Mp3 Player kicking in after.


Hope this helps.


If At First You Don't Succeed, Ask Someone For Help......
Re: splay problems [Re: Damsulegna] #195104 17/02/08 10:07 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
W
WideOpenSpace Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
W
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
glad to see im not only one having this problem :P
guess its bug then.

thanks for reply ^^


The harder I chase my dreams the more I experience the time for smiles and tears...
Re: splay problems [Re: WideOpenSpace] #195105 17/02/08 10:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
A bug in what?

It's more likely to be a bug in your handling of on MP3END than in mIRC.

Re: splay problems [Re: Collective] #195107 17/02/08 11:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
W
WideOpenSpace Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
W
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
Quote:
Note: These events will not trigger if you use /splay to play another sound or to stop a sound being played, they only trigger if the sound finishes playing completely.


no point using ON MP3END if sound is stopped with /splay cmd


The harder I chase my dreams the more I experience the time for smiles and tears...
Re: splay problems [Re: WideOpenSpace] #195109 18/02/08 01:01 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Well mIRC simply doesn't retain records of what files were played between instances of mIRC and I can't reproduce this here. Can you replicate this in a clean install of mIRC using /splay alone or does it only occur within that script?

If it's only within that script, have you checked it hasn't alias'ed /splay? And have you tried unloading any DLLs to ensure they're not doing anything?

Also I don't get what you mean when you say it's a "global" script - or is that just the name of it?

The version of Windows you're using would be helpful too.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: splay problems [Re: starbucks_mafia] #195148 18/02/08 05:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
W
WideOpenSpace Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
W
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 157
Quote:
Well mIRC simply doesn't retain records of what files were played between instances of mIRC and I can't reproduce this here. Can you replicate this in a clean install of mIRC using /splay alone or does it only occur within that script?


theres nothing to reproduce
this works fine under version 5.92 (the 5.2 up was typo)
with no interference of player when startup sound is played

Quote:

If it's only within that script, have you checked it hasn't alias'ed /splay? And have you tried unloading any DLLs to ensure they're not doing anything?


no dlls are used
and player script is NOT aliased during startup sound call

Quote:

Also I don't get what you mean when you say it's a "global" script - or is that just the name of it?

The version of Windows you're using would be helpful too.


under global i mean like NoNameScript, or DeusEx or IRCap or whatever... the full script bundle by 1 author.

i use WinXP SP2


The harder I chase my dreams the more I experience the time for smiles and tears...
Re: splay problems [Re: WideOpenSpace] #195151 18/02/08 05:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025

It's a script causing this. There was no mIRC 5.92, it went from 5.91 to 6.0. The only bug here is that you obviously have no clue about any of this and are unwilling to even try and find the real cause (your script) of your problem.

Re: splay problems [Re: WideOpenSpace] #195157 18/02/08 10:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
if it works fine in older versions and not newer AND no one else can reproduce it, there's a very good chance it's because of something in your script that worked in older versions and not in newer. As of 6.3, various changes meant to prevent scripts filled with certain errors from working (such as missing closing parentheses) have been added. This can make a script that has errors stop working correctly until it's fixed.

That said, it *could* still be a bug of some sort. However, you haven't said yet if you tried producing this on a clean copy of mIRC 6.31 (no scripts at all installed). My guess is that you can't reproduce it without a script installed. If that's the case, then it's your script.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net