mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#193344 18/01/08 06:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
T
TREMOR Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
T
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
I want an easy auto connect feature.
So I can add some servers.

TREMOR #193353 18/01/08 09:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
That's what scripts are for. smile

Code:
on *:start: {
  server irc.network1.net
  server -m irc.network2.net
  server -m irc.network3.net
}


Then, you can always add in channels to join and such on those /server lines. For information on how to do that, use /help /server .


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #193356 18/01/08 09:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
I disagree. Wanting to have mIRC start with multiple status windows (and possibly auto-connecting to them and auto-joining network-specific channels) seems like a really basic feature now that mIRC has multi-server support.

Scripting is of course capable of doing it, but it seems like such a fundamental feature for a multi-server IRC client that IMO you shouldn't need to resort to scripting for this.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
I'm not saying it's a bad thing. Just that scripting it is easy. Also, if it were added to mIRC, how complex are we going to make the options dialog? I mean, if you just add enough to join the networks and nothing else, people will be complaining that they don't have options to change nicks, idents, etc in there. If you start adding everything, it's just going to get too complex. I'd rather keep the options dialog simple and let scripts handle something like this instead. That's just my opinion on it, of course.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
TREMOR #193367 18/01/08 11:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
J
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
J
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Code:
on *:START: {
server SERVER
server -m SERVER2
server -m SERVER3
server -m SERVER4 }

Joeyexa #193369 18/01/08 11:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Why are you putting what was already given?


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #193370 18/01/08 11:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
lol


This is not the signature you are looking for
foshizzle #193374 19/01/08 12:23 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
there is a way in the options menu...
you goto the preform on start place and type it in


This is not the signature you are looking for
foshizzle #193380 19/01/08 02:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Heh... that won't work well when pinging out. smile


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #193382 19/01/08 02:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
lol :P


This is not the signature you are looking for
TREMOR #193593 22/01/08 05:11 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 17
D
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
D
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 17
I suggested that before too.

A "Connect on Startup" box in the edit window for each server. The same as there's already a "join on connect" for channels.

It's a multi server client now, but it still only has the abiltity to automatically join a single server.

(yes, you can do that with scripts, but scripting is hardly something novice users should need to learn.)

DanSkunk #193666 23/01/08 05:52 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 17
D
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
D
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 17
Actually...

What would probably work better and be much more user friendly would be multiple connect dialogs.

Go to options and connect and find a list of connections with, add, edit and delete boxes.

When you add or edit a connection, you get something similar to to the connect dial with full name, email address, nickname, alternative, invisable.

What would also make things simpler would be to have all the server settings on that same page: Server description, address, ports, network name, password and a button to let you browse the server list to choose one instead of just typing the info.

And *then* a check box for connect on startup. laugh

And then also a button to open the perform box for that connection.

You might use a different nick and password on different servers, and you might need to perform different commands when you connect to different servers.

I use mIRC a lot to help people get people connect to my IRC channel and it would be a lot easier for me if I could guide them to one dialog box to enter all the connection settings rather than going to the connect dialog for user info, the server browser to add and select a network and server and the channels folder to add the channel, select the network it's on and make it join on[/b] connect.

As per letting you still use "irc:" urls correcty, you could have a default first connection where you take the user info from for those links.

Seems like a big project to impliment, but after adding multiple server capability, it's probably not a bad idea to go over the interface with multiple servers in mind from the beginning rather than adding the functionality on top of a single server interface.


Link Copied to Clipboard