mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
6.31 get old icons back #189087 03/11/07 09:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
A
Anoniempje Offline OP
Mostly harmless
OP Offline
Mostly harmless
A
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
I fear new things, that's why I killed that treebar...
but the icons? Man, I miss them... How do I get it back?

dikke tuut
Anoniempje

Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Anoniempje] #189099 03/11/07 10:29 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
Check 'view' > 'toolbar' in the menubar. . (If you also disabled that menubar, you can access the 'view' menu by right-clicking the titlebar of mIRC.)

Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Horstl] #189101 03/11/07 10:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,022
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,022

I'm thinking he means the previous (pre 6.31) style icons.

Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Anoniempje] #189102 03/11/07 10:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
The old icons aren't available anymore. You can always make your own icons for the toolbar buttons, of course.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Anoniempje] #189103 03/11/07 11:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
You'd have to rip them out of 6.3 manually-- though I bet by the time you muster up the patience to do that you'd have already gotten used to the new ones.

Change is daunting, but it's easier to deal with when you embrace it.

Someone needs a hug.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Anoniempje] #189104 03/11/07 11:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
I can fix u a toolbar with the old style icons if you want? just send me a mess and i fix it when i have the time..


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: sparta] #189137 04/11/07 09:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
E
ELY_M Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
E
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
I'm very digusted with the new icons.
why Khaled changed them to new ones?
I would like the old icons back.
I will use resource hacker or resource editor to change them myself.


ELY M.
Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: ELY_M] #189159 04/11/07 04:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 51
T
Trashlord_ Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
T
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 51
You know, I don't understand why people suddenly "hate the new look" of mIRC.
Man, it's just icons, I myself, have never actually paid any attention to the icons, I love the old ones, and I love the new ones.

As far as the treebar goes, not my favourite, but hey, that can be easily disabled, so I did.

Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Trashlord_] #189198 04/11/07 09:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Agreed. The icons don't look bad, so even if you prefer one over the other, being "disgusted" is a bit overstated. Regardless, the buttons are customizable, so who cares? Just make new ones or download ones already made.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: ELY_M] #189214 04/11/07 11:24 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
...and I thought I'm a bit conservatively-minded... but maybe I never had to face such dramatic revolutions... like the modification of some icons. shocked
Joking apart: don't you think you'll accustom to the new icons in one week or two? I know folks who didn't even notice the change. smile

Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Horstl] #189234 05/11/07 01:05 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Heh, the only thing I have to complain about with the new icons is that now I have to find someone willing to update Invision's icons so that they don't look bad. Most people liked our icons and used them instead of mIRC's, but now mIRC's make ours look really bad. Hehe. Oh well, trying to find graphic artists willing to help out is not easy, so Invision users will just have to choose between shiny new icons in mIRC or the older ones in Invision. smile


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Riamus2] #189444 07/11/07 08:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
P
PCZero Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
The new mIRC icons suck goats. They look like a retarded kid with a fat crayon drew them. VERY horrid and difficult to look at for any length of time. The others were very clean and simple. These, well I just don't know what else to say. I hate it that everyone wants to try to emulate Vista, Windows Explorer, and all the other software that emphasizes presentation over content. Whoever designed these icons should be shot and then beheaded just in case...

Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: sparta] #190471 21/11/07 12:49 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
2
20_800 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
sparta,

PLEASE let me know when you have created a toolbar with the old icons! I have very bad vision and the shaded colors of the new icons are VERY hard to see (without massively magnifying my screen)! The 'flat' look of the old icons was much easier on my eyes.

I'm sending you a private message too (as you requested), but post the information in the forum as well, I'm sure I'm not the only one with this difficulty. Thanks!



The location of the old toolbar icons is... [Re: 20_800] #190491 21/11/07 04:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
You can find a bitmap containing the old toolbar icons here. Once you've downloaded it you can use that instead of the new icons by right-clicking on the toolbar, Buttons, then Select... and choosing that image.

Edit: Fixed stupid mistake.

Last edited by starbucks_mafia; 21/11/07 05:46 PM.

Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: The location of the old toolbar icons is... [Re: starbucks_mafia] #190496 21/11/07 05:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
2
20_800 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
starbucks_mafia,

Thanks for the effort, unfortunately there are two problems with your solution:

1) Instead of choosing Background, you need to choose Buttons, then proceed according to your instructions. This is a minor problem, and if this fix worked, then all would be fine.

However...

2) The buttons on the old toolbar (at least on the bitmap you provided) are arranged in a different order than on the new toolbar.

For example, the 6.31 "DCC Options" icon is replaced with a Stopwatch (which should be for Online Timer), and the "Notify List" icon is replaced with the old "DCC Options" icon. Other icons are similarly re-arranged. This is obviously a MAJOR problem, and the results (icons that don't match their functions) are worse than the new 6.31 icons.


Can anybody else help?

Re: The location of the old toolbar icons is... [Re: 20_800] #190498 21/11/07 05:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Sorry about that, just typed the wrong word when I wrote the instructions.

As for the bitmap, I didn't make it. Personally I've never felt the need to change the icons so I don't know what the precise layout of the image needs to be, although I don't know why it would've changed since that bitmap was created (assuming it was ever correct). In any case, I'm sure someone can use that image to put them in the correct layout.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: The location of the old toolbar icons is... [Re: starbucks_mafia] #190500 21/11/07 06:01 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
2
20_800 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
More than just re-arranging the icons is needed, at least one of the icons is completely missing from the toolbar you provided: The "crayons" icon which is used to choose mIRC's text and background colors. There may be more differences, but that difference was (almost) immediately apparent.

I think a newer bitmap is needed. The one you supplied is dated August 22nd, 2000. I'm sure a few features have been added to the toolbar in seven years! smile

Please note, I'm not complaining, just clarifying things. I truly do appreciate your help!

Re: The location of the old toolbar icons is... [Re: 20_800] #190502 21/11/07 06:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
These are taken from 6.3 and appear to work:

Re: The location of the old toolbar icons is... [Re: Collective] #190504 21/11/07 06:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
2
20_800 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Collective,

That toolbar works great, THANKS!

I didn't even have to edit out the magenta background (why I don't know, but I'm happy it wasn't necessary).

Thanks again!

Re: 6.31 get old icons back [Re: Anoniempje] #195504 26/02/08 01:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
D
DeathWolf Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
Sorry to bump back up that topic but... Is there any way to change the switchbar icons? They are now a lot brighter and it makes things harder to read when one has a big switchbar. Plus they're brightblue in the icon's title bar while winclassic typically is darkblue, which makes things even worse.

Last edited by DeathWolf; 26/02/08 01:35 PM.