mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
v6.31 comes up with a new set of modern looking icons. I like them.
However, I run across an important difference in icon behaviour:

Adding a background "colour" (that is: a unicrome .bmp) to the toolbar's set of icons in v6.21, all icons use the "expected/intended" icon transparency.

6.21 "old" icons w/o background:

6.21 "old" icons with background:



Now, doing the same in v6.31 results in non-transparent "boxes" around the toolbar's default icons, which renders their look quite ...hum... unlovely.

6.31 "new" icons w/o background:

6.31 "new" icons with background:



Note: That last icon (in all pictures respectively) is a custom icon added on my own - to demonstrate that the issue is limited to the "default" icons only.

Am I missing something, is this by design, or should it be regarded as a "cosmetical bug"?

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
I can't reproduce this myself, but does /toolbar -r fix it?

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Works fine here too (WinXP Home SP2) - with or without custom icons added.

What version of Windows are you using?


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,031
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,031
I couldn't reproduce it either. WinXP Pro SP2 and Win2000 Pro SP4

Last edited by RoCk; 02/11/07 02:15 PM.
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
Yepp, it does - and every time I restart mIRC, the issue is back.

Automated /toolbar commands on my mIRC (I am aware of so far) are adding some extra icons only ...
I'll take up some testing with a fresh mIRC install later this day - to screen out whether/which addons I use might cause this (anyway: addons that worked fine with <= 6.3).

[using XP MCE SP2, classic theme]

Last edited by Horstl; 02/11/07 02:20 PM.
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
S
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Same problem for me...

but only if i use the toolbar.ini option, i have re-write an alias to make the toolbar personalization and it's ok now.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
Can you provide some example code to reproduce the problem? I was not able to find the prob in my mirc (which is a mess) yet ...

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
S
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
So...

With the toolbar.ini
Code:
[toolbar]
n0=19
n1="connect","Connecter",1,"0",0,0,0,0,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n2="connect2","Déconnecter",1,"1",0,0,0,16,0,16,16,"","",0,0,1,0,""
n3="connect3","Déconnecter",1,"2",0,0,0,32,0,16,16,"","",0,0,1,0,""
n4="options","Options",1,"4",0,0,0,64,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n5="scripts","Editeur de scripts",1,"9",0,0,0,144,0,16,16,"","",0,0,1,0,""
n6="scripts2","Editeur de scripts",1,"10",0,0,0,160,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n7="addrbook","Carnet d'adresses",0,"12",0,0,0,192,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n8="colors","Couleurs",0,"14",0,0,0,224,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n9="send","Envoyer fichier",0,"16",0,0,0,256,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n10="chat","Chat",0,"17",0,0,0,272,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n11="rcvdfiles","Fichiers reçus",0,"20",0,0,0,320,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n12="logfiles","Fichiers log",0,"21",0,0,0,336,0,16,16,"","",0,1,0,0,""
n13="sep9","",0,"32",0,0,0,512,0,16,16,"","",2,1,0,0,""
n14="sky-chan","Mes Salons Préférés",0,"mirc.exe",43,1,0,0,0,0,0,"/selchan","",0,1,0,0,"scripts\alias.mrc"
n15="sky-son","Configuration Son",0,"icones\son.ico",0,1,0,0,0,0,0,"/dialog -om config_son config_son","",0,1,0,0,"scripts\alias.mrc"
n16="sky-dico","Dico",0,"icones\dico.ico",0,1,0,0,0,0,0,"/skydico","",0,1,0,0,"scripts\alias.mrc"
n17="sky-aide","Aide",0,"icones\hlp.ico",0,1,0,0,0,0,0,"/run mIRCfr.chm","",0,1,0,0,"scripts\alias.mrc"
n18="sky-forum","Forum",0,"sky.ico",0,1,0,0,0,0,0,"/url -an http://***/forum/","",0,1,0,0,"scripts\alias.mrc"
n19="sky-push","Push",0,"icones\push.ico",0,1,0,0,0,0,0,"/url -an http://***/push.php","",0,1,0,0,"scripts\alias.mrc"


The background is no good


Replace by old method, an alias on start
Code:
alias toolbarinit {
  toolbar -r
  ;effacer boutons inutiles
  var %todel = sep1,sep2,chanfolder,chanlist,sep3,sep4,timer,sep5,dccopts,sep6,sep7,notify,notify2,urls,urls2,sep8,htile,vtile,cascade,arrange,about | var %b = 1
  while (%b <= $numtok(%todel,44)) {
    toolbar -d $gettok(%todel,%b,44)
    inc %b
  }
  ;ajout boutons script
  toolbar -an43z1 sky-chan "Mes Salons Préférés" mirc.exe "/selchan"
  toolbar -az1 sky-son "Configuration Son" icones\son.ico "/dialog -om config_son config_son"
  toolbar -az1 sky-dico "Dico" icones\dico.ico "/skydico"
  toolbar -az1 sky-aide "Aide" icones\hlp.ico "/run mIRCfr.chm"
  toolbar -az1 sky-forum "Forum" sky.ico "/url -an http://***/forum/"
  toolbar -az1 sky-push "Push" icones\push.ico "/url -an http://***/push.php"
  ;traduction boutons classiques
  toolbar -t connect "Connecter"
  toolbar -t connect2 "Déconnecter"
  toolbar -t connect3 "Déconnecter"
  toolbar -t options "Options"
  toolbar -t scripts "Editeur de scripts"
  toolbar -t scripts2 "Editeur de scripts"
  toolbar -t addrbook "Carnet d'adresses"
  toolbar -t colors "Couleurs"
  toolbar -t send "Envoyer fichier"
  toolbar -t chat "Chat"
  toolbar -t rcvdfiles "Fichiers reçus"
  toolbar -t logfiles "Fichiers log"
}


The background is ok

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
Thank you, I see you solved it with an initial /toolbar -r.
I could fix the issue in a way akin to yours easily. But, the question remains: what causes this?

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
S
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
the toolbar -r in the alias is not necesary just for security smile

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
To me, the "-r" is the crucial thing smile
The very moment I perform a "/toolbar -r", my icons look as they should.

The rest of your alias does:
- remove some of the toolbar's items
- add some custom items
- rename some tooltips
... all these actions do not affect the "icon background intransparency" issue, at least on my mirc smile

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
S
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
If i del the toolbar -r line, it's work... for me, the problem is when i use the toolbar.ini

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,427
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,427
Thanks this has been fixed for the next version. The reason for the change in behaviour is that mIRC no longers stores the toolbar icons internally as a bitmap, they are now stored as actual icons. It should be possible for /toolbar to load the icons directly from the mirc.exe to solve this issue for now.


Link Copied to Clipboard