mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Halting default identifiers #177502 26/05/07 02:42 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
S
Scorpwanna Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
I'm sure I've done this before, halting a default identifier. Or was that just a command alias?

Say for example i want to haltdef the $ignore identifier, wouldn't i just

Code:
alias ignore {
  haltdef
  return testing
}


* Scorpwanna scratches head..


We don't just write the scripts, we put them to the test! (ScriptBusters)
Re: Halting default identifiers [Re: Scorpwanna] #177503 26/05/07 02:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025
Actually you can't override internal identifiers..

from the help file..

Originally Posted By: mirc.chm
Note: Built-in identifiers of the same name have priority

Last edited by RoCk; 26/05/07 02:47 AM.
Re: Halting default identifiers [Re: RoCk] #177504 26/05/07 02:46 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
S
Scorpwanna Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
Originally Posted By: RoCk
Just the return will override the internal identifier...

Code:
alias ignore return testing



Code:
alias sound {
  return testing
}


Shouldn't that override the $sound identifier? Doesn't for me frown.

edit:
Oh, crap frown. the $sound one was what I was trying to override. Sucks... Thanks anyways.

Last edited by Scorpwanna; 26/05/07 02:53 AM.

We don't just write the scripts, we put them to the test! (ScriptBusters)
Re: Halting default identifiers [Re: Scorpwanna] #177531 26/05/07 08:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 342
M
MeStinkBAD Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 342
There really should be a way to override the internal indentifiers... it's rather lame you can not.


Beware of MeStinkBAD! He knows more than he actually does!
Re: Halting default identifiers [Re: MeStinkBAD] #177534 26/05/07 09:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
S
Scorpwanna Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
Yeah, I was once able to override the $mp3 one with one I had created myself years ago. $mp3 would always spit out the wrong information and the alias identifier I made would show the correct information. I loaded up the old script just to test this and now it seems the overriding doesn't work. Yeah that's lame frown.


We don't just write the scripts, we put them to the test! (ScriptBusters)