Print Thread
#171727 28/02/07 04:51 AM
J
jaredmt Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
J
ok im new with scripts. i created my own bot called SLBot and i downloaded the script called DreamBot for it.

anyways i'd like an explanation of what all the symbols mean and what all the basic codes are

ex. i know * is wildcard. but idk what wildcard means frown

here's a small script i was given:
Quote:
on 1!:JOIN:#shadowlites:{ //notice $nick hi and welcome}

maybe someone can go into detail about each and every part of that? what does each symbol mean from it? and how else can i use those symbols?

i know all basics of mIRC like /nick /ns register /bs help /cs help and all that. i just dont know anything about scripts yet.

here's another script i was givin:
Quote:
On *:text:*hi*:#:/msg $chan hello $nick smile
this one uses wildcards. please go into detail on this one too. thanks smile

jaredmt #171735 28/02/07 08:04 AM
R
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
R
Code:
on 1!:join:#shadowlites:{ //notice $nick hi and welcome }

The ! means that the message will go to everyone that joins, except for the person/client that is running the code.

The * wildcard will match any entry, including no entry
The & wildcard will match any single word
The ? wildcard will match any single character

The usage of the first * in the second code, means that it will match any user level. User levels are a bit complicated for a beginner, however, they are explained in the help file under /help user levels

If you want to learn about scripting, I strongly suggest you read through the help file. Don't worry about going through it in any particular order, as many times you'll probably read something, then jump to a 2nd topic, 3rd topic, 4th, see a reference back to the 2nd topic....and so on...many times you'll probably go back and forth reading things that are new, but reference back to stuff you've already read (and it doesn't hurt to re-read those references).

jaredmt #171739 28/02/07 10:15 AM
D