mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#159880 21/09/06 12:58 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 143
N
naki Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
N
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 143
is there a way you can get the size of the windows taskbar in pixels using mirc script?


We don't just write the scripts, we put them to the test! (ScriptBusters)
#159881 21/09/06 04:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
Only if mIRC is maximized (or use a transparent @window that pops up just for calculating)

$window(-1).h returns the screen height

lets start calculating wink

mIRC is maximized and $window(-2).h returns mIRCs height
$calc($window(-1).h - $window(-2).h) = your taskbar size blush

if your mIRC isn't maximized use something like this:
Code:
alias calctaskbarsize {
  if ($appstate == maximized) { return $calc($window(-1).h - $window(-2).h) }
  else {
    window -dnh @calctaskbarsize
    if ($istok(2K3 2K XP,$os,32)) { setlayer 0 @calctaskbarsize }
    window -x @calctaskbarsize
    var %s = $calc($window(-1).h - $window(@calctaskbarsize).h) 
    window -c @calctaskbarsize
    return %s
  }
}


one step closer to world domination
#159882 21/09/06 07:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
I guess that's a no naki frown.

There is a flaw there, a typical start menu is 28 pixels high.
My screen resolution is 1024x768.

When I use $window(-1).h it returns 768
if I use $window(-2).h it returns 748
You say that that shows the height of mirc's window.

How could mirc be 748 if the taskbar is 28 itself and my screen height is 768?
768 - 748 = 20
Taskbar = 28

748 + 28 = 776

Taking a snapshot of the screen and using a good ole adobe program tells me that the true height of mirc window maximized is 740

Does that mean mirc is hiding 8 pixels height somewhere behind something?

#159883 21/09/06 07:53 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
Look what I DID!

//echo -ag Taskbar starts from the top of the screen until the $taskbarstarts pixel.
Code:
alias taskbarstarts {
  window -Bdhk0 +dL @taskbarcalc $window(-1).w $window(-1).h 1 1
  window -o @taskbarcalc
  var %taskbarstarts = $calc($window(@taskbarcalc).y +1)
  window -c @taskbarcalc
  return %taskbarstarts 
}


Thanks Sephiroth_ smile

#159884 21/09/06 07:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
It depends also on the theme and so on... also if your taskbar is fixed or not (under XP)


one step closer to world domination
#159885 21/09/06 08:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 261
Yeah, though ive tested what I made off of your example and it seems flawless smile. Thanks again. You pointed me in the right direction. mIRC can even be minimized or any shape and it works.


Link Copied to Clipboard