mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#157591 - 26/08/06 04:03 PM connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launch
7sun Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 26/08/06
Posts: 4
is it possible, and how ?

it's a hassle to it manually, i guess there is some simple scripting involved like a startup script, if anyone could enlighten me smile

Top
#157592 - 26/08/06 04:06 PM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 1527
Loc: state of confusion
Code:
on *:start: {
  server server-1
  server -m server-2
  server -m server-3
  server -m server-4
  server -m server-5
  etc
  etc
}


There are switches you can use in ordcer to change nicknames, identd, etc Check /help /server for more info smile
_________________________
Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it

Top
#157593 - 26/08/06 04:13 PM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
7sun Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 26/08/06
Posts: 4
nice but how do you make a startup scrit that's launched each time you launch mirc.

don't tell me it's called startup.ini smile

Top
#157594 - 26/08/06 04:36 PM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
7sun Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 26/08/06
Posts: 4
got it smile

replace * with 1, and put the script in remote.

Top
#157595 - 26/08/06 06:33 PM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
The script you were given would work exactly as you requested with no alterations required. Replacing the * with 1 simply means that your user level must be 1 or greater for that event to work. If, for example, you've gone and set your userlevel to op, then that event wouldn't work, since op evaluates to 0, which is less than 1.
If you leave the * as is, then it'll run no matter what your user level is, since the * is a wildcard that matches all possibilities.

Top
#157596 - 28/08/06 01:13 AM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
7sun Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 26/08/06
Posts: 4
ok smile, thanks for the info

Top
#157597 - 01/09/06 09:24 AM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
StealthLD Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 01/09/06
Posts: 2
Forgive me, but I tried your script and its not working for me. I think I did something wrong.

Code:
 on *:start: {
  server QuakeNet  
  server GameSurge
}
 


I am wanting to connect to these servers and then let the perform option connect me to the channels. Any information would be appreciated.

Top
#157598 - 01/09/06 09:38 AM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Code:
 on *:start:{
server QuakeNet
server -m GameSurge
}
 


You need the -m so that mIRC knows to open a new status window for the second connection, otherwise it'll open the connection to QuakeNet, then close it, in order to connect to GameSurge

Top
#157599 - 01/09/06 09:41 AM Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc
StealthLD Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 01/09/06
Posts: 2
Thank you very much. I will try that out. smile

Top