mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launch #157591 26/08/06 03:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
7
7sun Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
7
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
is it possible, and how ?

it's a hassle to it manually, i guess there is some simple scripting involved like a startup script, if anyone could enlighten me smile

Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157592 26/08/06 03:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
Code:
on *:start: {
  server server-1
  server -m server-2
  server -m server-3
  server -m server-4
  server -m server-5
  etc
  etc
}


There are switches you can use in ordcer to change nicknames, identd, etc Check /help /server for more info smile


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157593 26/08/06 03:13 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
7
7sun Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
7
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
nice but how do you make a startup scrit that's launched each time you launch mirc.

don't tell me it's called startup.ini smile

Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157594 26/08/06 03:36 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
7
7sun Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
7
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
got it smile

replace * with 1, and put the script in remote.

Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157595 26/08/06 05:33 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
The script you were given would work exactly as you requested with no alterations required. Replacing the * with 1 simply means that your user level must be 1 or greater for that event to work. If, for example, you've gone and set your userlevel to op, then that event wouldn't work, since op evaluates to 0, which is less than 1.
If you leave the * as is, then it'll run no matter what your user level is, since the * is a wildcard that matches all possibilities.

Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157596 28/08/06 12:13 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
7
7sun Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
7
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
ok smile, thanks for the info

Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157597 01/09/06 08:24 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
S
StealthLD Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
S
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Forgive me, but I tried your script and its not working for me. I think I did something wrong.

Code:
 on *:start: {
  server QuakeNet  
  server GameSurge
}
 


I am wanting to connect to these servers and then let the perform option connect me to the channels. Any information would be appreciated.

Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157598 01/09/06 08:38 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Code:
 on *:start:{
server QuakeNet
server -m GameSurge
}
 


You need the -m so that mIRC knows to open a new status window for the second connection, otherwise it'll open the connection to QuakeNet, then close it, in order to connect to GameSurge

Re: connecting to 2 (or more) irc servers at launc #157599 01/09/06 08:41 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
S
StealthLD Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
S
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Thank you very much. I will try that out. smile