mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
/////command bug? #157544 26/08/06 03:06 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 804
Jigsy Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 804
If you use 5 or more / before a command.

e.g. /////say Hello. You'll retrieve an error message in the status window.

Quote:

/SAY Unknown command


What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: /////command bug? #157545 26/08/06 03:23 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
H
hixxy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
I noticed that ages ago but assumed it was intended.

The number of times things evaluate doesn't go up after more than 2 slashes so it's kinda pointless to support anymore.

%a %b
%b %c

//echo -a -> %a
Output: -> %b
///echo -a -> %b
Output: -> %b

Re: /////command bug? #157546 26/08/06 03:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,463
maroon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,463
Confirmed, happens also in 5.91 and 6.16

/////echo -a hello

Re: /////command bug? #157547 26/08/06 06:25 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Its interesting that if u have a custom SAY or ECHO etc alias, they well be triggered no mater how many /'s

Re: /////command bug? #157548 26/08/06 12:10 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 804
Jigsy Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 804
Confirmed.


What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: /////command bug? #157549 26/08/06 01:06 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 164
V
vexed Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
V
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 164
I have scripted a /say alias so i don't get that problem. grin

Re: /////command bug? #157550 26/08/06 05:55 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 546
J
jaytea Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
J
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 546
Quote:

///echo -a -> %b
Output: -> %b


sure about that? wink


"The only excuse for making a useless script is that one admires it intensely" - Oscar Wilde
Re: /////command bug? #157551 26/08/06 06:39 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 164
V
vexed Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
V
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 164
Now add 2 more forward slashes to that.

Re: /////command bug? #157552 26/08/06 07:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
H
hixxy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
Meant to be ///echo -a %a :tongue:

Re: /////command bug? #157553 30/08/06 09:07 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 50
X
x64 Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
X
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 50
This is an undocumented feature, not a bug ^_^