mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#152905 08/07/06 09:24 AM
S
StevieT
StevieT
S
Hey,

I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of creating an "invite" script. Really all I want it to do is when I PM the connection at home from my laptop saying !invite then a channel, the IRC at home will join it, and same for part.

Thanks!

#152906 08/07/06 09:32 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
O
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
O
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
Hmm, well you can invite yourself from the laptop, using your home connection. But then your home connection has to be in the channel already, and has to have ops.

I don't really understand, do you want to invite the home connection using your laptop? (in that case you need to be in the channel with your laptop already, and have ops).

It's easy to script, just need to know what you want exactly.

#152907 08/07/06 10:07 AM
S
StevieT
StevieT
S
Hey,

Thanks for the reply. smile

Say I'm on a server as The_Turk, and then at Uni I log in via my laptop as StevieT. I'm wanting to PM The_Turk saying !invite then channel and it'll join that channel without the need to /invite The_Turk #channel - like taking a part of text, putting it in a script, and then executing.

I hope I'm clear enough. =]

#152908 08/07/06 10:24 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
O
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
O
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
Alright.
You have to put the below code into the remote files of The_Turk client.

Code:
on *:TEXT:*:?:{
  if (($1 == !join) && ($nick == StevieT)) {
    join $2
    close -m $nick
  }
  elseif (($1 == !part) && ($nick == StevieT)) {
    part $2
    close -m $nick
  }
}


/msg The_Turk !join #channelname
> makes The_Turk join the channel you want.
/msg The_Turk !part #channelname
> makes The_Turk leave the channel you want.

One thing, if the channel is set to invite only, you have to invite The_Turk first. You could do this with a script as well, but you have to make another script for it, on your uni-client (StevieT) in your case.

Let me know, if you want this also.

#152909 08/07/06 05:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
Depending on the chanserv and your access level for the channel you may be able to just iidentify to the channel services bot and have that bot invite you.
/cs identify #channel <pass>
/cs invite #channel

you may only need to identify with nickserv, as is the case with Dalnet
Quote:

-ChanServ- ***** ChanServ Help *****
-ChanServ- Command - INVITE
-ChanServ- Usage - INVITE <channel>
-ChanServ-
-ChanServ- Invites the sender to a channel that is set to invite only (mode
-ChanServ- +i). Used mainly for channels where the MLOCK is set +i. You
-ChanServ- cannot invite other users to a channel via ChanServ.
-ChanServ- Limited to channel AutoOps or above.
-ChanServ-
-ChanServ- Example:
-ChanServ- /msg ChanServ@services.dal.net INVITE #DragonRealm
-ChanServ- ***** End of Help *****



as far as the code shown by Orionsbelt I would strongly suggest that a user level be used with that, or anyone you know that sees the posting here will be able to use it to be invited as well.

#152910 08/07/06 05:48 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
O
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
O
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
True, I agree with adding more security.
Personally, I would use the hostmask for it.

#152911 08/07/06 10:23 PM
S
StevieT
StevieT
S
Thank you sooo much!


Link Copied to Clipboard