mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
P
pouncer Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
Code:
Private Sub gfdgfdfdg_Click()
   Dim cmd as String
    cmd = "/echo -a " & Chr(37) & "hello"
    Text1.LinkExecute "/dde mirc command " & Chr$(34) & Chr$(34) & " " & cmd

End Sub


im trying to get mIRC to echo %hello

but mIRC keeps saying * /echo: insufficient parameters because its not a variable in mIRC, is there a way around this? I don't want to set %hello as a var in mIRC, i just want it to echo the word '%hello'

hope someone here can help me out, thanks

Last edited by pouncer; 05/03/06 12:31 PM.
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
try sending $(%echo,0) that might do it.


$maybe
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
you mean %hello not %echo eh?

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
P
pouncer Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
$(%hello,0) - same problem

* /echo: insufficient parameters

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
P
pouncer Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
i wish khaled could sort this problem out in the future, as the % really messes things up

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
/dde mirc command "" /echo -s $(%hello,0)

works fine here (echoes "%hello"), so you are doing something wrong.

I noticed you're calling mirc's /dde command from within your application. Why would you possibly do that? Maybe this is the problem: it looks like you're using DDE to tell mirc to execute a /dde command, so there's double evaluation.

Last edited by qwerty; 06/03/06 10:39 AM.

/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
P
pouncer Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
yeah it works in mirc itself

/dde mirc command "" /echo -s $(%hello,0)

but i cant seem to send $(%hello,0) from the vb app to mirc

just keeps giving echo insufficient parameters

Last edited by pouncer; 06/03/06 03:50 PM.
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
P
pouncer Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
this works.. echos 'hello' in mIRC

cmd = " /echo -a " & "$(hello, 0)"
Text1.LinkExecute "/dde mirc command " & Chr$(34) & Chr$(34) & cmd

but soon as i add in %, it messes up

cmd = " /echo -a " & "$(%hello, 0)"
Text1.LinkExecute "/dde mirc command " & Chr$(34) & Chr$(34) & cmd

* /echo: insufficient parameters

there is no way around it is there?

edit* qwerty im using DDE in my vb app to tell mirc to echo %hello - im just trying to find out if any of you advanced scripters can find a way around the % problem

Last edited by pouncer; 06/03/06 03:58 PM.
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
H
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
Try this:

Code:
Text1.LinkExecute "/echo -a " & chr(37) & " $+ hello"

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
P
pouncer Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
thanks for the reply, no luck frown

* /echo: insufficient parameters

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
H
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,881
Put the entire line into a msgbox so you can see what vb's trying to do:

Code:
msgbox "Text1.LinkExecute /echo -a " & chr(37) & " $+ hello"

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
P
pouncer Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 827
yep thanks hixxy works fine now


Link Copied to Clipboard