mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
$me #139403 13/01/06 10:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
N
NeoNY Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
N
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Code:
 on 1:text:*:#: { if $me isin $strip($1-) && $active != $chan { echo -a  Your nick was said in  $chan } } 


Can anyone tell me what did i do wrong in here please and fix the bug for me please, thank you....

Re: $me #139404 13/01/06 10:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
C
captain_comic Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
C
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
Thanks for saying "please" ...
Try using //echo
Your welcome

Re: $me #139405 13/01/06 10:44 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
N
NeUtRoN_StaR Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
// shouldnt be needed
Code:
on 1:text:*:#: {
  if (($me isin $strip($1-)) && ($active != $chan)) {
    echo -a  Your nick was said in  $chan 
  }
}

works fine for me
make sure you dont have it in the same file with another text event as they will conflict

Last edited by NeUtRoN_StaR; 13/01/06 10:49 PM.
Re: $me #139406 13/01/06 10:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
C
captain_comic Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
C
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
lol, in the remote section not, you're right, in the aliasses section it is needed (I just tested it). The round brackets aren't needed also, his code just works fine with me, so is there a bug?

Last edited by captain_comic; 13/01/06 10:49 PM.
Re: $me #139407 13/01/06 10:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
N
NeUtRoN_StaR Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
while its true im not the best scripter here
im pretty sure thats not an alias
i could be wrong
and if theres a bug i havent ran across it
the parentheses () are a matter of personal taste and i think they help me keep things in order nicely

by the way hah you called the parentheses round brackets
the only thing i can think is him having another event in the same ini thats preempting the event in question

Last edited by NeUtRoN_StaR; 13/01/06 10:54 PM.
Re: $me #139408 13/01/06 11:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
C
captain_comic Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
C
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
Of course I didn't place the on text event in the aliases section :P, but I performed a small test with echo -a $active in an alias in the aliasses section and there you need the //. Maybe he has more than one on text event as you said, maybe he has put it in the aliasses section, maybe he oversaw the echo on his screen, maybe he forgot a } somewhere ... and sorry for my english smile By the way how do you call a } ?

Re: $me #139409 13/01/06 11:23 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
N
NeUtRoN_StaR Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
brace }
parenthesis )
bracket ]

if my memory serves me right

Re: $me #139410 14/01/06 12:12 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
N
NeoNY Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
N
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Quote:
// shouldnt be needed
Code:
on 1:text:*:#: {
  if (($me isin $strip($1-)) && ($active != $chan)) {
    echo -a  Your nick was said in  $chan 
  }
}

works fine for me
make sure you dont have it in the same file with another text event as they will conflict


thank you, its work fine now smile thank you all

Re: $me #139411 14/01/06 03:00 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Quote:
echo -a $active in an alias in the aliasses section and there you need the //.


You dont need // anywhere in script files, the // is only needed for commands entered the twin // informs mirc it should evaluate the line rather than treat it as litteral texts

ie: (from the command line)
/echo -a $me
$me
//echo -a $me
DaveC

& (called from an alias)..... example { echo -a $me }
/example
DaveC


PS: on the original problem, The original code worked fine for me, so it must have been something else not listed that was jaming it.

Re: $me #139412 14/01/06 09:23 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
C
captain_comic Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
C
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 72
That beats me! Yesterday I tested
test {
echo -a $active
}
in the aliasses section ( at least I think so) and got echoed: $active. Now it works fine! Sorry, I think I had a typo and a blackout. The original code is good, something else must be wrong...