|
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Pikka bird
|
OP
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10 |
i am wondering if someone can help me, i am looking for script that will post in my room the script i want will post the Live Schedule for the Dj's? i want people in the main room type !scheduale and another window will pop open and it will give them the Dj's names and time they are playing and what day
does anyknow know where i can get script like that or someone can make me know it would be wonderful
ty
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
If you want a popup window, every user would have to use the script. Chances of getting them to do that are low in most cases. Perhaps having a text output would be better? Or even sending a file with the data?
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Pikka bird
|
OP
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10 |
how would i do the output text? If you want a popup window, every user would have to use the script. Chances of getting them to do that are low in most cases. Perhaps having a text output would be better? Or even sending a file with the data?
Owner TOTALLY XTREME Radio Station #TOTALLY-XTREME is on irc.p2p-irc.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
That is up to you... It can be in various formats (/notice, /msg). It can be all on a couple lines, or spread out over many lines. The formatting is completely up to you. Beyond that, you need to know where you are getting the data. Is it in a text file? Is it on a website? Where is it? How is it formatted? If it's a text file and you have it set up how you want it to be displayed, you could simply do:
on *:text:!schedule:#yourchan: {
.play $nick schedule.txt 1500
}
Personally, if this is for your own "business" and you want to give out information to get people to show up or whatever the case may be, then you would probably be better off doing either: a) Put up a website and when people type !schedule, it messages them the link to the schedule on the website. This lets you set up the information in a very nice way for people to view. b) Set up a text file (or word document, or html file, or whatever) so that it looks really great and then when someone types !schedule, it will /dcc send the schedule to the person. Either of those options lets you present the schedule in a much nicer-looking way than if you were to just use text (whether in a popup or just in the channel/query).
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Pikka bird
|
OP
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10 |
well i do have website for the radio station and i do agree when they type !scheduale i do want it go to the website, that i think it would be better how would i do that? i want to go to that way with the scheduale to the website That is up to you... It can be in various formats (/notice, /msg). It can be all on a couple lines, or spread out over many lines. The formatting is completely up to you. Beyond that, you need to know where you are getting the data. Is it in a text file? Is it on a website? Where is it? How is it formatted? If it's a text file and you have it set up how you want it to be displayed, you could simply do:
on *:text:!schedule:#yourchan: {
.play $nick schedule.txt 1500
}
Personally, if this is for your own "business" and you want to give out information to get people to show up or whatever the case may be, then you would probably be better off doing either: a) Put up a website and when people type !schedule, it messages them the link to the schedule on the website. This lets you set up the information in a very nice way for people to view. b) Set up a text file (or word document, or html file, or whatever) so that it looks really great and then when someone types !schedule, it will /dcc send the schedule to the person. Either of those options lets you present the schedule in a much nicer-looking way than if you were to just use text (whether in a popup or just in the channel/query).
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
The best way is simply to msg the website address to them when they type !schedule:
on *:text:!schedule:#yourchan: {
msg $nick View the schedule at http://www.yourhost.com/
}
Alternately, if you could get the visitors to use the script, you can just have THEM add this:
alias schedule {
run http://www.yourhost.com/
}
Replace the website address in either one that you use. Also, replace #yourchan to be the name of your channel. For users who use the second one, they can use it by typing /schedule (/ instead of !).
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Pikka bird
|
OP
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10 |
do i write this: on *:text:!schedule:#yourchan: { msg $nick View the schedule at http://www.yourhost.com/}in my remote or somewhere else? The best way is simply to msg the website address to them when they type !schedule:
on *:text:!schedule:#yourchan: {
msg $nick View the schedule at http://www.yourhost.com/
}
Alternately, if you could get the visitors to use the script, you can just have THEM add this:
alias schedule {
run http://www.yourhost.com/
}
Replace the website address in either one that you use. Also, replace #yourchan to be the name of your channel. For users who use the second one, they can use it by typing /schedule (/ instead of !).
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
Yes, it goes in a new Remotes file... Alt-R > File > New.
Note that when you pasted that, there was not a space before the } ... make sure to put it into the remotes in the same way I posted it to prevent any possible problems.
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Pikka bird
|
OP
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10 |
i tryed it and its not working at all, i dont know what is going on  Yes, it goes in a new Remotes file... Alt-R > File > New.
Note that when you pasted that, there was not a space before the } ... make sure to put it into the remotes in the same way I posted it to prevent any possible problems.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
Are you trying to type it from the bot (where you put the script)? If so, you can't do that. on text doesn't trigger for your own text.
Also, like I said, make sure it's formatted like I had it and no spaces are missing and make sure that you changed #yourchan to the name of your channel.
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245 |
or you could use /play $nick filename.speed like
on *:text:!DJ:#yourchannel: {
play $nick dj-list.txt 1500
}
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
Heh. Look at the 4th post (3rd reply). 
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245 |
hmm, still why make it more complicated than it needs to be?
what did happen however was that I clicked to post but evidently didnt click the submit button.
Last edited by MikeChat; 10/11/05 10:28 PM.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Pikka bird
|
OP
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 10 |
no i am not putting it on the bot, i am putting it on my own room i would love to have the bot to do it but dont know
i may should just give up lol
|
|
|
|
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252 |
It would be best if you did put it on the bot. Note that the bot is a different installation of mIRC from the one that you use. The fact that it's in the room is irrelevant.
Likewise with my script that I posted in response to your other request.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
Your post makes me think that you are thinking of a bot as being chanserv or nickserv or Q or whatever other network bots might be around. When we say to put it on a bot, we're talking about a second copy of mIRC that is running that you're not normally typing on... it just sits in the channel and runs whatever scripts are needed.
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
|