Print Thread
#126779 04/08/05 10:29 PM
F
feud Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
F
I am designing a system that requires me to be able to send DDE messages to mIRC, preferably from a CLI program. I have been unable to create a DDE link directly to mIRC, and having an external program will allow me some flexibility with execution.

I apologize for the vagueness of this post, but what I want to be able to do is to be able to open a command.com console and type "c:\misc\dde\dde.exe <my message to mirc>" and have mIRC receive it.

Does anyone know of such a program?

------
deep down, i'm really superficial.
O
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
O
I'm not aware of any plain command-line utility that offers the functionality of mIRC's /dde command. I'm not a programmer either, so I can't help you write one. However, I have two links that may interest you.

If you're a VB programmer, check this post which will show you how to use DDE in VB. Otherwise, try my mIRC Batch script, which registers the .MIRC extension with Windows for use as a mIRC batch file.

To use my script, load it and type /mf on. This will enable you to execute any .MIRC file by double-clicking it, entering its name in the Start > Run dialog or launching it from a Windows batch file (.BAT) with the command START "file.mirc". The file itself should be nothing more than a series of mIRC commands, each on a separate line. (Tested on Windows 98.)

F
feud Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
F
thanks for the reply. i have since been able to create a DDE link (exactly what i said i couldn't do earlier), but am now having troubles with this connection. i would like to send a command to mIRC, but right now, all i can get it to do is /echo any of the text i send it. in perl, i am using: <code>Poke('filler', "<command>");</code> i read in the DDE help section of the mIRC helpfile that COMMAND would enable mIRC to execute the text i am sending it; but where do i specify the Topic?