mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#126678 03/08/05 09:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
C
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
C
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
I'm connecting to netgamers from behind a proxy, and have successfully configured mIRC with my proxy settings, hostname. passowrd etc.

I can connect to my preffered network and chat with no issues. However, if I am innactive for a period of a 2 or 3 minutes I am disconnected with message '[me] has quit IRC (Read error: EOF from client)'.

I've done a seach of these forums and found a little info on this message, but it's happening consistently each time I'm innactive - any thoughts on possible solutions or work arounds?

Your help is appreciated.

C

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
C
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
C
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
As a thought, might it work to set an automated message to send to a channel every minute or so so I'm not innactive?

Something like the script mentioned here:

https://forums.mirc.com/s...true#Post133682

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 200
I
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
I
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 200
you could try:
on *:connect:/timer 1 40 /quote ping $ticks
on *:pong: {
var %time = $calc(($ticks - %time)/1000)
set %ping.pong.lag. [ $+ [ $server ] $+ . $+ [ $network ] ] %time
}
menu status,channel {
Server lag: [ %ping.pong.lag. [ $+ [ $server ] $+ . $+ [ $network ] ] ] MS:/echo -a Server lag: [ %ping.pong.lag. [ $+ [ $server ] $+ . $+ [ $network ] ] ] MS
}
---
this snippet should keep you connected, and also telll you your approx. lagg to the server ^^, im not sure if the menubar will work tho. copy past this to your remotes, and right click on the stats/channel window and it should tell you. if you click on it, it will echo it to the window.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 200
I
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
I
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 200
*fix: replace $1 with $2

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
C
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
C
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks for taking the time to respond.

That piece of code certainly gave me an extra option if I right click the channel window. However I get an MS:/ECHO Unknown Command message in the status window.

I'm not sure I understand your second post (the fix). Replace $1 with $2. Would you be able to expand?

Thanks again
C

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
C
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
C
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Bump.

Still same problem.. have scoured threads to try and find something that's gonna help but to no avail so far.

Perhaps if I understood the correction above then this would do the job..?

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 128
S
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
S
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 128
Use this:
Code:
on 1:connect:.timer 0 70 lag
on 1:pong:{
  if ($2- isnum) {
    var %l = $calc(($ticks - $2-) / 1000)
    if (%l >= 0) { echo 4 -s Got answer from server: %l seconds lag. }
  }
}
alias lag .quote PING $ticks

Just that this code will fill your status with Got answer from server... blahblah
If you want to hide that, use this code:
Code:
on 1:connect:.raw ping : $+ $ticks

That's all smile


Link Copied to Clipboard