mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#126667 03/08/05 03:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
M
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
hello, when i type a line of text with space before it doesnt show.. is there a way to fix (its for my script) for help menu i want so space before the categories name lol:P like this:

Help:
Current categories:
1
2
3
4

#126668 03/08/05 05:32 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
mirc eats multiple spaces up (and leading/trialing ones)

you can use a ctrl-o at the start of the line to make the first space not a leading one (ctrl-o is change text to ordinary)
//echo  example

or if u ned two spaces in the middle of a line, and there might be ofther codes before it then you could use ctrl-b ctrl-b (toggle bold, toggle it again)
//echo this is an  example (ctrl-r just added for effect)

see how there is no bold, becuase you turned it on then off, same event if it was on then it gets turned off then on

#126669 04/08/05 03:49 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 397
A
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
A
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 397
u can just do $chr(32)


Need amazing web design for low price: http://www.matrixn3t.net
#126670 04/08/05 09:27 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
Actually, that you cannot do. Try it and see.

Code:
 
alias xx {
  msg # test
  msg # $chr(32) test
}


Both lines echo test without leading spaces.

What you can do, is use $chr(160)

Code:
 
alias xx {
  msg # test
  msg # $chr(160) test
}


Where the second line has two leading spaces (1 for the hardspaced 160, one between the $chr(160) and the word test).


DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius
#126671 04/08/05 01:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
$chr(160) doesn't work on all fonts.

Just do as DaveC said. It will work for everyone. By using control codes, you can insert as much spacing as you want to and it will display correctly.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Link Copied to Clipboard