mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
R
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Hello Everyone,

I am trying to use perform so that I can automatically connect to three networks plus the channel (s) when I start mirc but I can't seem to get it to work.

Can someone tell me how to do it? I have been told to use script but I am not sure how to do this.

P.S. - I am also looking for a bot that is similar to the koolbot. If anyone can provide me with some information about this, I would be very grateful.

Thank you
Reliable

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
The Perform section cannot perform commands when mIRC starts up, only when you connect to an IRC server.

To perform commands when mIRC starts you do indeed need a script, you need to use the ON START event, see /help ON START. You might use something like this:

ON *:START:{
server irc.server.here -j #channel1,#channel2,#channel3
server -m other.server.here -j #blah,#blah,#blah
server -m another.server.here -j #some,#other,#channels
}


This would connect to 3 servers when you start mIRC and automatically join the specified channels.

For mIRC bots, check out the following websites:

www.mirc.net
www.mircscripts.com
www.hawkee.com
www.mircscripts.org
www.google.com (Search)

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
R
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
To perform commands when mIRC starts you do indeed need a script, you need to use the ON START event, see /help ON START. You might use something like this:

ON *:START:{
server irc.server.here -j #channel1,#channel2,#channel3
server -m other.server.here -j #blah,#blah,#blah
server -m another.server.here -j #some,#other,#channels
}

What do I do with this?

About the bot url, I have browsed through mircscripts.com and I found nothing except koolbot but I assumed that this was because I did not know a specific name of a bot but I will keep on searching. If anyone knows one, please let me know!

P.S. - Thanks for the quick reply.

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Sorry, should have explained that.

The code bit (only the green bit), goes in your Remote section, press ALT+R to access it. Make sure it's on multiple lines and not just on one line. Also make sure it's in a NEW file, go to File > New.

Make sure you replace 'irc.server.here' and the channel names with your own servers/channels, you can add more if you wish by following the same format on a new line.

Using the format site:url.com search-term you can search a specific website with Google. See this example and this one to see what I mean in action. Some websites have their own search feature look for a 'Search' link. Make sure you search for 'bot' or 'mIRC bot', not a specific bot name.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
R
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
Sorry, should have explained that.

The code bit (only the green bit), goes in your Remote section, press ALT+R to access it. Make sure it's on multiple lines and not just on one line. Also make sure it's in a NEW file, go to File > New.

Make sure you replace 'irc.server.here' and the channel names with your own servers/channels, you can add more if you wish by following the same format on a new line.

Thanks,

This seems to do the job. But now, I am having problems with some of the network to connect because of password issues. Some of them require authentication. Is there a way around it?

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
If you mean the server requires a password, the format of the /server command becomes:

server irc.server.here password -j #channel1,#channel2,#channel3
server -m another.server.here password -j #blah,#blah,#blah
.

If you mean you need to identify to some Services, then you can use the Perform section to do it smile (or the ON CONNECT event.)

Further reading:
/help ON CONNECT
/help Perform
/help /server


Hope that's of some assistace!

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
R
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
If you mean the server requires a password, the format of the /server command becomes:

server irc.server.here password -j #channel1,#channel2,#channel3
server -m another.server.here password -j #blah,#blah,#blah
.

Yes, that's what I meant - but unfortunately - this didn't work. I am not sure why. If I type /pass mypassword for each then the connection will be made.

P.S. - Thank you, you save me the hassle of running four mirc folders.

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
I doubt the /pass command is the same as the password mIRC sends to the server then.

You could probably use the ON SNOTICE event to see when the server asks you for the password (if it does send you any form of notification) and automatically do it that way.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
R
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
I am sorry, ON SNOTICE?

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
On Server Notice.

/help ON SNOTICE.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
R
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Yeah, I get that part but I don't know what to do with the given information.

Quote:
on SNOTICE

The on SNOTICE event triggers when you receive a server notice.


Format: on <level>:SNOTICE:<matchtext>:<commands>
Example: on 1:SNOTICE:*client connecting*:/halt

For an explanation of matchtext see the on TEXT event.

Examples

on 1:SNOTICE:*hack*:/splay hack.wav

This triggers when a server notice contains the word hack.

Note: You can prevent the default server notice from being displayed by using /halt.

I am assuming that it is something similar to the first one you have given me about the ON START, but I am not sure how to configure it.

I am guessing that I should add below what I already have something like this...

ON *:SNOTICE:{
blah blah blah
blah blah blah
blah blah blah
}

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
R
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Well I got lucky and I got it working.

I had to do the following.

ON *:START:{
server irc.server.here password MYPASSWORD -j #channel1,#channel2,#channel3
server -m other.server.here password MYPASSWORD -j #blah,#blah,#blah
server -m another.server.here password MYPASSWORD -j #some,#other,#channels
}

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
R
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
R
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
hi dear


Link Copied to Clipboard