mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
raw 338 doesn't process #112487 24/02/05 10:25 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
N
Nutter Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
N
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
mIRC 6.16 only, the processing of raw 338 appears to have broken. If I run the code below, which basically displays a raw numeric and its message:

Code:
raw *:*:{
  /echo -a --
  /echo -a Raw $numeric - $rawmsg
}


It outputs the following when I /whois someone on mIRC 6.16 (I've bolded the line that should have a -- followed by a "Raw 338 - <raw message>" line before it)

Quote:
--
Raw 311 - :US.GameSurge.net 311 Nutter James ~Psycho Psycho.user.gamesurge * :James
James is ~Psycho@Psycho.user.gamesurge * James
--
Raw 319 - :US.GameSurge.net 319 Nutter James :@#stfu
James on @#stfu
--
Raw 312 - :US.GameSurge.net 312 Nutter James Kanzi.CA.US.GameSurge.net :Fremont, CA - ehpg.net
James using Kanzi.CA.US.GameSurge.net Fremont, CA - ehpg.net
--
Raw 330 - :US.GameSurge.net 330 Nutter James Psycho :is logged in as
James is logged in as Psycho
James is actually ~Psycho@66-215-237-120.riv-eres.charterpipeline.net [66.215.237.120]
--
Raw 318 - :US.GameSurge.net 318 Nutter James :End of /WHOIS list.
James End of /WHOIS list.


Whereas mIRC 6.14 shows the following (using the same code; again, the raw 338 line (missing from 6.16) is italicised, the other line has been bolded)

Quote:
--
Raw 311 - :US.GameSurge.net 311 Nutter James ~Psycho Psycho.user.gamesurge * :James
James is ~Psycho@Psycho.user.gamesurge * James
--
Raw 319 - :US.GameSurge.net 319 Nutter James :@#stfu
James on @#stfu
--
Raw 312 - :US.GameSurge.net 312 Nutter James Kanzi.CA.US.GameSurge.net :Fremont, CA - ehpg.net
James using Kanzi.CA.US.GameSurge.net Fremont, CA - ehpg.net
--
Raw 330 - :US.GameSurge.net 330 Nutter James Psycho :is logged in as
James is logged in as Psycho
--
Raw 338 - :US.GameSurge.net 338 Nutter James ~Psycho@66-215-237-120.riv-eres.charterpipeline.net 66.215.237.120 :Actual [email]user@host[/email], Actual IP
James ~Psycho@66-215-237-120.riv-eres.charterpipeline.net 66.215.237.120 Actual [email]user@host[/email], Actual IP
--
Raw 318 - :US.GameSurge.net 318 Nutter James :End of /WHOIS list.
James End of /WHOIS list.


Nutter
GameSurge IRC Network
www.gamesurge.net
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112488 24/02/05 01:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 841
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 841


Saturn, QuakeNet staff
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112489 25/02/05 10:31 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
N
Nutter Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
N
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
Please dont patronise me, because

Yes, I searched.

Let me search, again, just for you, just to prove I did a search:

Results 1 - 2 of 2 Previous Main search page Next
Subject Forum Poster Posted on
Re: raw 338 doesn't process Bug Reports Sat 24/02/2005 14:01
raw 338 doesn't process Bug Reports Nutter 24/02/2005 11:25
Results 1 - 2 of 2

Wow, that shows, err, my thread, and, crap! nothing else?

I'm sorry that the forum defaults to only search the last week of posts, as I just noticed. But I didn't notice that slight problem when I ran two searches for any threads on 'raw 338' or '338', which produced nothing.

So I posted.

If you have such a problem with it, please request the forum admins increase the default search parameters on the forum.

Last edited by Nutter; 25/02/05 10:34 AM.

Nutter
GameSurge IRC Network
www.gamesurge.net
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112490 25/02/05 10:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
That doesn't prove you made a search a second time round, it proves you did a search I'll give you that. But in anytime during your searching did you stop, and think.

I'm searching something newer than 1 week, the chances are minuscule that this will have been reported lets say 3 times in one week.

So what should we do? We use the search feature and expand our search to a later date. So, our forum works well in that respect however a few of us have spotted some bugs. You just need to be able to use it to it's full capabilities.

I've just expanded it to 1 year. Made sure I selected the "Bug Reports" forum, using the keyword "338".

Subject Forum Poster Posted on
Re: raw 338 doesn't process Bug Reports Nutter 25/02/2005 10:31
Re: raw 338 doesn't process Bug Reports Sat 24/02/2005 13:01
raw 338 doesn't process Bug Reports Nutter 24/02/2005 10:25
Re: mirc 6.16 + quakenet + raw 338, bug? Bug Reports Mentality 07/01/2005 13:35
mirc 6.16 + quakenet + raw 338, bug? Bug Reports spid 07/01/2005 11:50
Re: raw 338 and 6.16 Bug Reports Mentality 30/09/2004 06:49
Re: raw 338 and 6.16 Bug Reports mikeb 30/09/2004 06:46
Re: raw 338 and 6.16 Bug Reports Hrung 30/09/2004 01:34
raw 338 and 6.16 Bug Reports mikeb 30/09/2004 01:03
Re: raw 338 problem Bug Reports Anders2 10/09/2004 14:34
Re: raw 338 problem Bug Reports MonoSex 10/09/2004 14:02
raw 338 problem Bug Reports Anders2 10/09/2004 13:31
Re: Cannot catch raw 338 Bug Reports TimeFX 10/08/2004 23:11
Re: Cannot catch raw 338 Bug Reports Mentality 08/08/2004 00:42
Cannot catch raw 338 Bug Reports TimeFX 08/08/2004 00:11
Re: raw 338 bug in 6.16 Bug Reports Sephiroth_ 12/07/2004 23:12
Re: raw 338 bug in 6.16 Bug Reports CNO 12/07/2004 03:03
raw 338 bug in 6.16 Bug Reports Sephiroth_ 12/07/2004 00:19
Re: raw 338 & mIRC 6.16 Bug Reports Phreakse 10/07/2004 11:22
Re: raw 338 & mIRC 6.16 Bug Reports wiebe 10/07/2004 11:03
Re: raw 338 & mIRC 6.16 Bug Reports Phreakse 10/07/2004 10:52
Re: raw 338 & mIRC 6.16 Bug Reports gpn 08/07/2004 21:32
Re: raw 338 & mIRC 6.16 Bug Reports Mentality 08/07/2004 11:56
raw 338 & mIRC 6.16 Bug Reports wiebe 08/07/2004 06:53


Results 1 - 24 of 24

What d'ya know? I've founded 24 results because I used it to it's full capabilities.

Happy searching!

See ya.

Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112491 25/02/05 11:35 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Hi there,

Sorry if you've felt patronised, I can see why, however, regulars here find themselves having to answer questions that have been answered before dozens of times a day because people do not use the Search feature (or atleast used it properly). The default search time doesn't need to be changed. Nevermind though, now you know for future reference smile

Whatever the case though, thank you for taking the time to report a bug, it's appreciated.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112492 25/02/05 12:52 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 841
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 841
My apologies, I was in a pretty bad mood when I posted that. And you are right, it is partially caused by the defaults on the search page. Ironically I can't seem to find a post explaining why it is like that - if there ever was one, that is?


Saturn, QuakeNet staff
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112493 25/02/05 02:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
It's amazing how many people don't notice the date field in search and claim they found nothing. I think the default search range should be changed to at least 1 year, since I can't see any disadvantage of such a change.


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112494 25/02/05 02:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
I can think of atleast one advantage and that would we'd get no complaints that the search feature isn't working, but even then the thread they want could be in the date range 2 years as opposed to 1 year, so it could be a continuous loop. mad

Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112495 25/02/05 02:50 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
FiberOPtics Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
I also think putting it at 1 year atleast would be far better than 1 week. The search is meant to be a search in the database, but at 1 week default it only searches such a small part, which is a bit silly imo. Especially since the threads of the last week are still visible when going to the specific forum.

I usually set it to 2 years even, since I want to see all relevant results. There are rarely any relevant in the last week, of course it also kinda depends on what you are looking for.

Ideally, it could be that it defaults to 1 year, and that the results are shown from most recent to oldest. Then they can still take the ones from the first week, but notice that there are more results in the past too.

My vote: 1 year atleast!

Greets


Gone.
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112496 25/02/05 03:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 841
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 841
The only disadvantage I could think of is resource consumption (IIRC the frequency of searches one could do was initially also time-limited, after the forum upgrade), but if Khaled can donate a whole month's salary to a good cause, then he should be able to afford a fast server as well. Besides, I'm pretty sure that the reduction of duplicate posts will make up for it. wink

Seriously though. even if changing the search defaults isn't an option, the date range fields could be given another color (eg light red) so that more people will notice..


Saturn, QuakeNet staff
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112497 26/02/05 07:50 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
N
Nutter Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
N
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
Quote:
But in anytime during your searching did you stop, and think.

I'm searching something newer than 1 week...


No.
I didn't think that, because I didn't realise the default was a 1 week search. As I say, I only noticed (having seen a complaint that I didn't do a search) that there WAS a default of only a 1 week search configured -- and I didn't notice that till after I had made the reply either (thus the editing of the post).

Had I noticed / known, I would have expanded the search terms. Honestly, I am not that stupid or pathetic to just post a bug the moment I notice it. I know exactly what its like to see a bug or feature request or whatever, posted 50 bazillion times on a forum; you just get sick of replying to it.

I just generally don't ever need to change the search defaults in a search engine (they are usually for advanced search terms like "don't display this" or "search only in this language"), so its not in my nature to check all the "advanced" search capabilities before I actually issue the search command, on what should (realistically) be a basic search query. Ala, search all forums, for this term -> go.

I will, of course, be more aware of the 1 week default on this specific forum in future, and will endeavour to change the setting whenever I do a search here again.

Apologies too for having posted something that has been done so before.

Last edited by Nutter; 26/02/05 07:53 AM.

Nutter
GameSurge IRC Network
www.gamesurge.net
Re: raw 338 doesn't process #112498 26/02/05 08:15 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
It's cool dude, sorry for behaving that way.
But it did teach you a few things.

Now, lets /goto :thepub.