mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
WHOIS - how to #109963 03/02/05 01:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
K
katana Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Hi,
I used to use the PIRCH IRC client, and recently installed the mIRC client.
In PIRCH, when you clicked on someone's name to chat to them, a WHOIS was automatically performed as the private chat window opened, and the results were displayed in the main window. Is there any way to do this automatically in mIRC?
At the moment I have to right-click>WHOIS to get this info. I've looked through the options, but can't find anything.
Thanks in advance for any advice/help.

Re: WHOIS - how to #109964 03/02/05 02:54 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
C
copericus Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
Yes can be done in mirc here is where to find it on mirc 6.16
Alt-o to get the options then select IRC from the tree look at the little chack boxes and select the 7th one down (whois on query)

Hope that helps

Re: WHOIS - how to #109965 03/02/05 04:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 96
J
JoeDaddy Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
J
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 96
Options (alt+o) > Mouse > In the 'Nick List' box add the following line..
whois $$1 | query $$1

Then just double-click on a nick in the nick list.

copericus What you suggested works when someone messages you.

Re: WHOIS - how to #109966 03/02/05 07:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
K
katana Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks Copericus and JoeDaddy for your answers.
JoeDaddy: I couldn't get your method to work. Can you confirm the entry you wrote? (whois $$1 | query $$1 )

Re: WHOIS - how to #109967 04/02/05 08:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
I
Iori Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
Well, that should indeed work, you would find the whois output either in status window, or (if you have 'Show whois in active' checked in Options|IRC) in the channel you clicked the nick.

If you do have "Show whois in active" selected, this entry (in Options / Mouse / Nicklist) would put the output to the query window
  • query $$1 | .timer 1 0 editbox -n $1 /whois $1

Re: WHOIS - how to #109968 05/02/05 12:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
K
katana Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks, that second string seems to work now.