mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
2 connections ? #108567 20/01/05 06:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
R
rela Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
Can I connect two times to an IRC server, once with my wireless connection and one with my Ethernet Card ? (2 different IP's !)

How do I do that ?


@#botwars @Kreynet
Re: 2 connections ? #108568 22/01/05 02:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 237
JAFO Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 237
You can run multiple instances of mIRC. So while mIRC is on try to open mIRC again, you will see that it does open. But what youre talking about sounds like 2 seperate machines.

Re: 2 connections ? #108569 22/01/05 11:10 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
R
rela Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
Well errr... 2 different machines: 2 different routers...
So with one instance of mIRC i want to connect one time true each router, which have different IP's...


@#botwars @Kreynet
Re: 2 connections ? #108570 23/01/05 10:12 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 237
JAFO Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 237
All i can say is to run mIRC in each machine. If theres a way to do what you want, I sure dont know how.

Why dont you just run it in each machine independantly?

Re: 2 connections ? #108571 24/01/05 01:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
R
rela Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
Because it's my neighbours wireless router grin


@#botwars @Kreynet
Re: 2 connections ? #108572 24/01/05 06:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Once you're connected to the first server, you can probably adjust this setting to cause a new connection to go through the other card.

Alt+O > Connect > Options > Advanced

[x] Bind sockets to IP address: <other card's IP>

Re: 2 connections ? #108573 24/01/05 02:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
R
rela Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
I think it's a very good try, but unfortunately:

* Unable to connect to server (No Route to Host)

Edit: I managed to connect a second time, but then the first one died...
Anyone an idea ?

Last edited by rela; 24/01/05 03:13 PM.

@#botwars @Kreynet
Re: 2 connections ? #108574 24/01/05 03:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
but then the first one died...

What was the error message?

Anyway, you should be able to start another instance of mIRC, disable binding and connect from there.