mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
D
dj_lane Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
D
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
I would like my mirc to say something every 30 minutes... im sure this is easy but im a newb... so how do i do this?

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
F
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
F
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
/timer<name> 0 1800 <your text here>

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
D
dj_lane Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
D
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Quote:
/timer<name> 0 1800 <your text here>


what do you mean by the name after the timer?

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
Timer names aren't necessary. I usually refer to it as a reference, to tell different timers apart.

If no name is specified it will look something like


-
* Timer 1 activated
-
* Timer 1 halted
-


Lets say you started the timer called djlane to message a user ever half hour.

/timerdjlane 0 1800 /msg dj_lane bleh..

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
F
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
F
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Yes, maybe I should not have assumed you'd know that. The name isn't necessary
/timer 0 1800 I am away now.
(will work just fine.)

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
What will work fine? If you was refering to /timer 0 1800 I am away now. that wont work fine. You'll get an error every half hour saying:-

-
I Unknown command.
-

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
F
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
F
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
You're right, how about this?

/timer 0 1800 /msg $chan Sorry, $me is away now.

you must tell it what to do, but since I had no idea what they wanted, I left it off. I'm not a mind-reader but I don't want to mislead people either.

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
What if they aren't away though? Messing with you dude. It's perfect. grin

#106693 05/01/05 01:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
T
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
T
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
it works, thanks smile

Last edited by TaZz2; 05/01/05 01:08 AM.
#106694 05/01/05 01:10 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
30 minutes:

Code:
.timermsg 0 1800 msg [color:red]#channel[/color] "My Text Here"


30 seconds:

Code:
.timermsg 0 30 msg [color:red]#channel[/color] "My Text Here"


New username: hixxy
#106695 05/01/05 02:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
Also, to find out the number of seconds.

//echo $duration(30 mins)

Returns 1800

You can use hrs,mins,secs.

//echo $duration(1 hr)
//echo $duration(60 mins)
//echo $duration(3600 secs)

Will all return 3600.


Link Copied to Clipboard