mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#101005 19/10/04 12:13 PM
V
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
V
I'm not an expert when it comes to COM objects or reading from the registry, so I'll just ask it here. How can I retrieve the icons used for MIME types in Windows? And would that work for all Windows versions the latest mIRC works on?

For example, when I have the .zip extension, I want to see where Windows draws the icon from.

Any help, guidence, or a snippet of code, would be apreciated. Thanks! smile

#101006 19/10/04 12:56 PM
S
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
S
Here's a quick alias I threw together using qwerty's $regread(). It's by no means perfect, but it's somewhere to start from. For example it doesn't work with .txt on my current system, however looking at the registry manually I can't see any link between the .txt registry entry and the icon it uses in Explorer, so I haven't a clue how how to fix it.

$get_ft_icon(<file extension>) will return EXTENSION_NOT_FOUND if the file extension isn't found in the registry, and CLASS_NOT_FOUND if it finds the extension but can't find the 'class' that the extension is supposed to belong to which contains the icon location. Be aware that most icons are stored in DLLs and so will have a format like c:\blah.dll,10 where c:\blah.dll is the filename and 10 is an index.

Code:
alias get_ft_icon {
  ; Usage: $get_ft_icon(&lt;file extension&gt;)
  if (OK* !iswm $regread($+(HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\, ., $remove($$1,.), \))) return EXTENSION_NOT_FOUND
  elseif (OK* !iswm $regread($+(HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\, $gettok($v2,2-,32), \DefaultIcon\))) return CLASS_NOT_FOUND
  else return $gettok($v2,2-,32)
}

alias regread {
  var %a = regread $+ $ticks
  .comopen %a WScript.Shell
  if $comerr { return ERROR }
  if !$com(%a,RegRead,3,bstr,$1) {
    .comclose %a
    return ERROR
  }
  var %b = $com(%a).result
  .comclose %a
  return OK %b
}

Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.