I retreated from use of the Favorites menu for the exact reason that it caused a connect. I'd lost my connection while I was AFK, and channel windows were still open. When I returned, I joined a new channel, causing the connect! Not a problem of course, except in the rare case your network offers hostmasks or cloaks, although it might be some time before you rejoin the previous channels.
Compared to browsers, you might not want your browser to connect you to the internet when you click a bookmark, if you're not already connected. Or, you might not want an app to remap a network drive if the connection was lost. Or, you might not want an app to open a file on an external drive, if it's a different drive than the original file was on that has a file with the same name! No, the behavior is not "pretty much standard". In general, we need computers to alert us to ambiguities, when our meaning is not determined by the context, more; and it's an extremely shallow context.
Regarding our miscommunication, I believe I said, "The Edit Channel dialog has feature X", rather than "needs" or "should have". I was describing my idea, not attempting to motivate a behavior in others. I've observed both strategies for communicating, and I'm not sure either is obviously better or worse, but they might be. Further, users who speak languages with other syntaxes might have still different interpretations.
Edit:
If on COMMAND, in the Windows sense of the event corresponding to the user selecting a menu item, were available, I could script the above option. Furthermore, since on KEYDOWN only occurs in custom or graphics windows, some other of the options I presented are not available by scripting either!
Last edited by ascription; 12/10/11 11:49 AM.