Just so you know, when mIRC starts it loads these files & all script files into its internal memory. You can edit them from the remote editor. Alt + R. Then click View to see the different options.
When mIRC closes it saves all the files it has loaded to its internal memory. So if you manually edit one of these files, not only will you not see it in an already running mirc, mirc will overwrite them when it closes.