mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 414
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 414
How to Reproduce:
1) Create a folder in the mirc directory with a name which contain a space ex. "my scripts"
2) Create a text file ex. test.txt in that new directory
3) Write in that file ex: heh | echo That is the bug..
4) In the mirc write //echo $mid($read(my scripts\test.txt,1),1,2)
You should see "That is the bug.."

Tested on Mirc 6.03,6.12

I would be very grateful if Khaled have written mine nick in versions.txt smile


mIRC Chm Help 6.16.0.3 Full Anchored!
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
That's not a bug. If you want the text to not be evaluated you should use the n switch.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 414
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 414
Ahh .. Ok .. 10x
But if that is not a bug .. Why he evaluate only the readed text from a folder which contain a space ? If you try to read that from a file from a folder without space it not evaluated ?


mIRC Chm Help 6.16.0.3 Full Anchored!
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
AFAIK, it doesn't evaluate commands (like /play does). So, reading a pipe ('|') doesn't mean anything to $read().

/mkdir "c:\t e s t"
/write "c:\t e s t\test.txt" pipes | $me | $active | echo -a bugged?
//echo -a $read(c:\t e s t\test.txt)
/remove "c:\t e s t\test.txt"
/rmdir "c:\t e s t"


Copying and pasting those lines, mIRC echoes:

pipes | cold | Status Window | echo -a bugged?
-
* Removed 'c:\t e s t\test.txt'
-


It works here with "heh | echo That is the bug.." as well.

Last edited by cold; 18/10/03 05:31 PM.

* cold edits his posts 24/7
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 414
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 414
How about my version ? smile

/mkdir "c:\t e s t"
/write "c:\t e s t\test.txt" pipes | echo -a bugged? Yup smile
//echo -a $len($read(c:\t e s t\test.txt))
/remove "c:\t e s t\test.txt"
/rmdir "c:\t e s t"

I get
5
bugged? Yup smile


Used Mirc [email]6.12@Win98se[/email]


mIRC Chm Help 6.16.0.3 Full Anchored!
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
Yeah, now it's reproduced here too. It's bugged when it's used as a parameter of any other identifier (it seems so, even inside $null()), provided that its specified path contains spaces.


* cold edits his posts 24/7
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
I
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
Well, that's why you use the n switch
//echo -a $len($read(c:\t e s t\test.txt,n))
27

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
It's well-known that the n switch should be used there, but the point is, this behaviour is weird and makes no sense at first.. so, Khaled might want to check it.

Edit:
Actually, there is no 'n' solution. The real point is it should be fixed. Because I could want to read a line evaluating its content. Pipes should not be evaluated, however, mIRC is evaluating them in this case.
Or maybe it should actually evaluate them in any case, like $eval() does.

Regardless of its intended behaviour, it's currently a bugged feature.

Last edited by cold; 21/10/03 07:40 AM.

* cold edits his posts 24/7

Link Copied to Clipboard