Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#236199 11/02/12 12:15 AM
A
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
A

I have been using mIRC for many years (atleast over a decade), and I have been generally happy with it. I have troied other irc programs, but for one reason or another, I did not like them as much as this ine. However, there is one shortfall that has bothered me over the years. The anemic choice of colors offered. How about expanding the color options? I cannot see why it could be possible to include an option to define custom colors. MSPaint offers 28 colors, Internet Explorer offers 56 colors (with the option of "defining custom colors"), and Firefox offers 70 colors! mIRC only offers 16 (!?!) colors! How hard can it be to extend the color range?
Unless Mr. Mardam-Bey wants to go in history as the "Bill Gates of IRC" ("No one will need more than 640K of memory"), I would strongly suggest to him to widen the color choices.

P
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
P
This has been discussed plenty of times in the time that I've been hanging around the forums. The main thing stopping this seems to be the lack of standards. I'm not an expert on irc standards but the first 16 colors are standardized and more have never been added.

It also seems mIRC won't get more colors until there is some standard for more colors. Though I'm sure others could elaborate more on the topic, or you could search the forum for similar topics.

http://scripting.pball.win
My personal site with some scripts I've released.
L
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
L
Open the color dialog, right click a color, select your custom color. Or use the /color command.

Last edited by Loki12583; 11/02/12 02:46 AM.
F
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
F
Well the problem with this argument is mirc already tries to interpret colors from ^k17 to 99, or atleast strips them from text. Also even though the first 16 are standardized alot of scripts change the defaults to suit their scheming.

I am SReject
My Stuff
A
Hoopy frood