mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 181
C
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 181
Originally Posted By: FroggieDaFrog
what version of mIRC are you using. Because /noop wasn't added until 6.X, and late in that version


mIRC 6.35, 7.17, 7.18

Do you have 'Identifier Warning' off?

Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
F
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
F
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
Not sure what you mean, to be honest.

Wait, you said it works if you specify "!noop" instead of "noop"? Then I do believe you have an alias that has overwritten mIRC's built in /noop Commmand. To get around this I edited my last bit of code so it calls mIRC's built-in /noop instead.

Last edited by FroggieDaFrog; 04/03/11 12:18 PM.

I am SReject
My Stuff
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 181
C
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 181
Code:
Then I do believe you have an alias that has overwritten mIRC's built in /noop Commmand.

No, I don't.

Open the script editor (Alt+R), then in the Options menu, click 'Identifier Warning'.

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
westor Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
What exactly do the "Identifier warning" on the script editor?


Need Online mIRC help or an mIRC Scripting Freelancer? -> https://irc.chathub.org <-
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
noop is a built-in command and is not an identifier. The identifier warning has nothing to do with it. Even with it enabled, you should not get a warning about noop if you didn't have $ in front of it. There should not be a $ in front of noop. You can verify this by typing the following in mIRC's edit line-

//noop echo -a test

You should not receive any kind of message or echo because noop prevents the display.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Originally Posted By: westor
What exactly do the "Identifier warning" on the script editor?


It just tells you if you used an identifier that isn't valid. For example, if you type:

//echo -a This is a fake identifier: $fake

With the option enabled, you will receive an error about that being an invalid identifier. If the option is disabled, it will be evaluate to $null and you'll see:

This is a fake identifier:

(It will just not show anything for the identifier)


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
westor Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
You mean something like this?

//var %t $noop(echo -a test) | %t

* No such identifier: $noop


Need Online mIRC help or an mIRC Scripting Freelancer? -> https://irc.chathub.org <-
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
westor Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
hmm nice now i understand! is there any way to enable/disable this with an alias command?


Need Online mIRC help or an mIRC Scripting Freelancer? -> https://irc.chathub.org <-
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Originally Posted By: westor
You mean something like this?

//var %t $noop(echo -a test) | %t

* No such identifier: $noop


Yes, that will give you an error, but you should not try to use noop as an identifier. It is a command as I stated.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,156
W
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,156
General reply.

You can read jaytea's post to understand why using noop with filter is a problem, and it's not about /!noop at all
$noop() doesn't exist, so if you have the identifier warning on, mirc will report an error, this is the same for any non existing alias, he could have used "thidoesnotexist", when you don't have that warning on, any non existing identifier returns $null.

Quote:
!noop prevents mIRC from displaying the * No such identifier message (is it like ~ or a bug?)
/!command only search for the builtin command and $~ident only call the
built in identifier, so as a side effect, it won't produce the error if you have the warning on.

Jaytea's post also describe the fastest way to use filter to get $filtered filled, it's to use "~~" as an alias.

Last edited by Wims; 04/03/11 02:31 PM.

#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
Wims #230331 04/03/11 02:39 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
F
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
F
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
Thanks, I just replaced noop for ~~ in my code.

Last edited by FroggieDaFrog; 04/03/11 02:39 PM.

I am SReject
My Stuff
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
westor Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515
FroggieDaFrog, post the new updated code to copy, thanks!


Need Online mIRC help or an mIRC Scripting Freelancer? -> https://irc.chathub.org <-
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
F
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
F
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
Ok here is my alias after editions:

Code:
alias Aliases {
  if ($isid && $0 == 1) && ($script($1-)) { 
    filter -fkg $qt($v1) ~~ /^ $+ $iif(*.ini iswm $v1,n\d+=) $+ alias [^\x20]+ [^\x20]+/i               
    return $filtered
  }
}

Last edited by FroggieDaFrog; 04/03/11 03:11 PM.

I am SReject
My Stuff
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard