mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
J
Jaxel Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
J
Okay, I am new to mIRC and know nothing... lets get into this.

I have users with different modes in my channel: ~, @, & and +

I would like it so that on MY SCREEN ONLY, users are forced colors for their messages based on their mode. I have already figured out how to change the color of their nicknames (using the address book), but it doesn't change the color of their messages as well. So my chat screen is nothing but black and white and its hard to read. How would I do something like this?

R
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
R
You would need a script to do this.
Here's a simple example:
Code:
on ^*:text:*:#:{
  haltdef
  color $chan $nick $1-
}
alias -l color {
  var %color = $left($nick($1,$2).pnick,1)
  %color = $replace(%color,~,4,&,3,@,2,+,1)
  if %color !isnum {    %color = $color(normal)  }
  echo %color $2 $3-
}

I set this up so that you should be able to easily see how it works, and be able to work with notices and actions, as well as text.
Note: It is channel only.

I used the top 5 usermodes and the first 5 colors, since you didn't specify what colors you wanted to use.

Code edited for characters and colors specified by the OP. Also included default coloring for anyone that doesn't have one of the specified usermodes.

Last edited by RusselB; 08/09/10 04:56 AM.
J
Jaxel Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
J
Okay... where do I put that code? and how do I activate it?

I want the following colors:

~ Red
& Green
@ Blue
+ Black

I want it to be on messages only, not notices or actions.

R
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
R
Put the code in your remotes.
Alt + R
If the page that shows isn't blank, then click File -> New
When you have a blank page in front of you, then you can copy & paste the code.