mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
problem #20747 24/04/03 05:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
A
asianguy63 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
i cannot connect to irc no matter what i do. it says connection failed everytime....which is upsetting...i'm using comcast cable...altho it really doesnt matter. someone help me...i've used it before and now i'm trying to get back on....have i been banned or something?

Re: problem #20748 24/04/03 06:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
P
Poppy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
Which network/server are you trying to connect to, and what's the exact error message?


Never compare yourself to others - they're more screwed up than you think.
Re: problem #20749 24/04/03 07:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
A
asianguy63 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
the message says connection timed out.

want to get on any dalnet server but i've tried every server available and none work.

Re: problem #20750 24/04/03 07:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Just so we can be 100% sure type /server kernel.ga.us.dal.net and see if it lets you on.

Re: problem #20751 24/04/03 11:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
A
asianguy63 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
yeh i tried it. no luck

Re: problem #20752 25/04/03 11:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
try /server 209.82.160.49

if that doesnt work, check to be sure you arent blocking mIRC or the server ports (6660-6669,7000-7002 and 113 for identd) in any firewall/router.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: problem #20753 26/04/03 04:35 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
A
asianguy63 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
tried it...no such luck...i dont have a router and i'm not running any type of firewall so yeh...this sucks

Re: problem #20754 26/04/03 05:11 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
parabrat is he trying to connect to something thats down?

|D3m0nicChaosDNS| IP: 209.82.160.49
|D3m0nicChaosDNS| Host: --None!--

i tried to run a dns on what u told him to try ... and it returned as nothing

this is to the original poster have u also tried other servers and are u getting the same message???

also are u in a school or university?

edit:

odd occurance tho it does work the other way around

|D3m0nicChaosDNS| IP: 209.82.160.49
|D3m0nicChaosDNS| Host: kernel.ga.us.dal.net

so thats kinda odd of it lol nm parabrat maybe im just losing my mind

Last edited by _D3m0n_; 26/04/03 05:13 AM.

D3m0nnet.com
Re: problem #20755 26/04/03 05:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
lol, not to worry, if you've lost your mind we'll keep an eye out for it...mine wanders off and gets lost a lot too.

i tested it when i posted it and just did again, it connects fine.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: problem #20756 26/04/03 05:36 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
must be a glitch in my dns lookup at the time i i looked it up

its weird i typed /dns IP# and it returns none ... type the name it returns the ip ..... very very wierd occurance lol


D3m0nnet.com
Re: problem #20757 26/04/03 01:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
There is no bug, it's just that the IP 209.82.160.49 hasn't got a reverse DNS entry.

Re: problem #20758 26/04/03 01:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
A
asianguy63 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
no i'm not at a university or any place that would have a firewall. i'm at home...its almost as if my ip has been blocked so that i cannot connect to ANY servers on ircs network

Re: problem #20759 26/04/03 09:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 33
Edward_K Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 33
Try using kernel.ga.us.dal.net, but, use port 7002

Most firewalls only filter 6660-6669,7000 and forget to do 7001 and 7002

Re: problem #20760 27/04/03 08:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
have you checked with comcast to see if there is anything you have to tweak?


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet