mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Disable line numbers in editor #203153 07/08/08 03:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
I think there should be an option to enable/disable the line numbers in the script's editor.


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203162 07/08/08 06:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
symphony Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
Seconded.

Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203164 07/08/08 06:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,588
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,588
I can't see the reason to disable this.What are the advantages ?
I have nothing against this suggestion, but imo, line number are a very nice thing.Actually, this can be done with a dll if you want.


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: Wims] #203166 07/08/08 08:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
P
Pivo Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
P
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
If I remember correctly, those line numbers are the cause of broken display under linux/wine.

Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: Pivo] #203167 07/08/08 08:30 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
yes, thats what i was getting at


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203176 07/08/08 11:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
foshizle, perhaps next time, state the reason you wanted ti removed, would have eliminated some replies smile


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203179 08/08/08 12:21 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,588
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,588
Some people could say that mirc shouldn't be used on linux/wine, and that you're asking for something that would only be used in order to remove a bug that should not exist smile


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: Wims] #203181 08/08/08 12:53 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
who cares what "some" say :P
they even advertise it on these forums


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203183 08/08/08 03:33 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,878
H
hixxy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,878
As well as this, I'd like to see the option to set how many numbers wide the line box is by default. I would set it to about 5 numbers wide so it never auto-resizes while I'm in the middle of writing something, can be offputting.

Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: hixxy] #203188 08/08/08 08:14 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
This I agree with. Having the line numbers, I have found handy, and, probably due to a fluke, I don't have any problems with the line numbers on my Linux (Xandros) system.

Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: RusselB] #203192 08/08/08 02:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
i like the line numbers, but when i use linux, it crashes mIRC


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203231 09/08/08 06:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
Why not just tell the people who maintain WINE to fix THEIR program?


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: argv0] #203252 10/08/08 01:32 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
...


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203272 10/08/08 02:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
symphony Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
argv0's right you know.

Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: symphony] #203274 10/08/08 04:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
maybe its not that easy to just go fix that problem.. and its 1 program.


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203280 10/08/08 08:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
M
Mpdreamz Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
Maybe it's not easy for Khaled ?
Wine is an Windows API emulator if it has a bug emulating it's their job to fix it not for mIRC which is not even officially supported through Wine. If you have any understanding of windows API you'll realize it's not just 1 program that would be affected.


$maybe
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: Mpdreamz] #203327 12/08/08 04:21 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
how would it be hard?
he just implemented it 2 versions ago..


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203337 12/08/08 01:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 234
M
MTec007 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 234
the point is, is that it works PERFECTLY in windows, therefore wine has a bug that needs to be resolved, this is not a bug in mIRC. but i agree, the line numbers should have a on/off switch somewhere, i personally dont care for the line numbers.. in any editor.

Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: foshizzle] #203338 12/08/08 01:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016

The point is having to add a toggle for a feature because it doesn't work correctly under an EMU? This wouldn't happen if Wine were emulating the Windows API correctly, hence it's a Wine problem not a mIRC problem.

Originally Posted By: MTec007

the line numbers should have a on/off switch somewhere, i personally dont care for the line numbers.. in any editor.


I can respect wanting a switch because you don't like the line numbers, but not the other reason at all. I personally like having it there because it's nice to have as a reference when scrolling vertically. It made life just a little bit easier.

Last edited by RoCk; 12/08/08 01:40 PM.
Re: Disable line numbers in editor [Re: RoCk] #203352 12/08/08 06:21 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
i agree its nice, but whats wrong with having a switch to turn it off?


This is not the signature you are looking for
Page 1 of 2 1 2