mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Some little issues after updating to 6.31 #197823 14/04/08 01:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
N
NessPJ Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
N
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Hi everyone,

I have been using mIRC for quite some time now.
Only after updating to version number 6.31 the strangest thing occured.
Usually when i start up mIRC, it will connect on startup and run my perform list so i automatically connect to the right servers and channels i want to be in.

After upgrading this no longer happens though.
I checked both options and they are still checkmarked to Connect on Startup and Perform on startup.
I tried unchecking/rechecking the options and even rebooting my machine in between but that didn't help.

I also checked my config files and read if there was anything odd to see but it all looked fine to me.

(When i manually click my connect button it will just connect with no problems and also execute my perform list).

Next to this tiny little issue i do not seem to be able to connect to a specific channel anymore.
This only happens with one server/channel namely the tweakers.net server. This used to work with no problem at all before and i am confident that my perform list is set up right.
(There are no flaws or typo's in the commands).
I do join the server (irc.tweakers.net), i get identified but even though my perform list states it should join a channel on there it won't.
(Can this be restricted server sided or something?).

Thanks a lot for any help! smile

Last edited by NessPJ; 14/04/08 02:01 PM.
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: NessPJ] #197824 14/04/08 03:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
Sounds like your ON START event is no longer firing.. the one that connects to your servers automatically

Check your Alt+R (remotes) for an on start event and make sure it's there in at least one of the files.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: argv0] #197825 14/04/08 04:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
N
NessPJ Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
N
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
I just looked at my remote.ini and its completely blank.
Did it get overwritten during the upgrade maybe?

Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: NessPJ] #197826 14/04/08 04:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
doubtful, if it did it would be in a backup directory in $mircdir

More likely, however, the files were just unloaded. Reload them, they should be in your last mirc directory.

Note that between 6.21 and 6.3 the default user data path changed from C:\Program Files\mIRC to you user's "Application Data" folder, or "AppData" under Vista. This does not affect upgraded versions assuming you installed over mIRC directly, but perhaps you installed it in another way.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: NessPJ] #197827 14/04/08 05:10 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
Hum, 'new installations' of mIRC will not (or at least not in all situations) use a subfolder of the installation folder as the "root" folder. It's this "root" folder where mIRC looks for settings (mirc.ini) and the like. The issue is better explained here .
Thus, your 'old' settings (mirc.ini) / variables (remote.ini) etc might still exist: in the appdata of your user account (if the blank remote.ini is located in a subfolder of mIRC) - or vice versa.
If this is the case, here is some info how to fix it.

argv0 beat me to it smile

Last edited by Horstl; 14/04/08 05:12 PM.
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: Horstl] #197829 14/04/08 06:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
N
NessPJ Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
N
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Well, what i did was just run the setup of mirc 6.31 and point it to my Program files\mIRC folder.
I also looked in the application data folder but there were no mIRC settings to be found, which should mean that all went well.

Now i tried the following:
I tried copying my setting files from an older backup which still had the previous install of mIRC.

There was no change at all it seems.

Anyone still have a clue? smile

Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: NessPJ] #197830 14/04/08 07:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
Please type to a mIRC window:
//echo -a $mircdir *** $nofile($mircexe)
Are the two outputs identical?
Is the return for $mircdir the path where your remote.ini (part of your backupped settings) is located?
Or is this remote.ini located in the latter?

Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: NessPJ] #197831 14/04/08 09:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
In addition to the above, also report the contents of

//echo -a $com(0) $script(0) $script(1) $md5($mircexe,2) $dll(0) $remote


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: Horstl] #197853 15/04/08 12:46 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
N
NessPJ Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
N
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Originally Posted By: Horstl
Please type to a mIRC window:
//echo -a $mircdir *** $nofile($mircexe)
Are the two outputs identical?
Is the return for $mircdir the path where your remote.ini (part of your backupped settings) is located?
Or is this remote.ini located in the latter?


This it what it tells me:

C:\Program Files\mIRC\ *** C:\Program Files\mIRC\

Originally Posted By: argv0
In addition to the above, also report the contents of

//echo -a $com(0) $script(0) $script(1) $md5($mircexe,2) $dll(0) $remote


With this i get:

Error accessing file: $md5

Last edited by NessPJ; 15/04/08 12:49 PM.
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: NessPJ] #197868 15/04/08 09:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Whether or not this is your situation, I'll state it for everyone's benefit -- Cracked versions of mIRC are known to not run on START events. Yet another reason to use a legitimate version of mIRC... and preferably pay the meager $20 for it. laugh


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: NessPJ] #197874 16/04/08 12:01 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
NessPJ:

What is the result of //echo -a $mircexe


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: Some little issues after updating to 6.31 [Re: argv0] #197909 16/04/08 02:40 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
N
NessPJ Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
N
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Originally Posted By: argv0
NessPJ:

What is the result of //echo -a $mircexe


This is what it will give me:

C:\Program Files\mIRC\mirc.exe