mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
how to log specific channels? #194012 28/01/08 02:37 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
R
r0uJe Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
I can't find the option where mIRC allows me to log only the channels that I want (instead of logging ALL the channels). Is there such an option?

Thanks.

Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: r0uJe] #194013 28/01/08 02:40 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021

Right click on the switchbar button for the channel you want and go to logging. Or if you use the treebar, right click on the channel you want and go to logging.

Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: RoCk] #194014 28/01/08 03:25 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
R
r0uJe Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
Hmm... I can't find the 'logging' options. I'm using NoNameScript, btw.

Last edited by r0uJe; 28/01/08 03:26 AM.
Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: r0uJe] #194022 28/01/08 02:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021

You could also use the /log command.

/help /log

Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: RoCk] #194025 28/01/08 03:33 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
R
r0uJe Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
Originally Posted By: RoCk

/help /log


Doesn't work on Windows Vista - an error message comes up and re-directs me to this page - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/917607 - and therefore, I can't read the HELP file.

Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: r0uJe] #194028 28/01/08 03:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021

Which version of mIRC are you using? Obviously not the latest.
Just type /log on in each channel you want to log.

Originally Posted By: mirc.chm

/log <on|off> <window> [-f filename]
Turns logging on and off for a window, if you specify a filename the logs file dialog is not popped up.




From versions.txt
16/08/2007 - mIRC v6.3

Changes:
..
95. Removed support for mirc.hlp file on F1 key, only mirc.chm is used now.



Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: RoCk] #194033 28/01/08 06:00 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
R
r0uJe Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
I'm using mIRC 6.17 with NoNameScript 4.03 running on Windows Vista.

I am now only logging the channels that I want, thanks for the help. I have one more question - when I do alt+O to bring up the options window and go to IRC->Logging, I can change different settings there like 'Strip Codes' and 'Date Filenames' etc. My question is, if I now do the '/log on' command, will the settings that I have in Options->IRC->Logging still take effect?

Appreciate all the help!

Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: r0uJe] #194036 28/01/08 06:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
/log on just turns individual logging for that channel name on all networks.

So in status window, typing /log on will log all status windows.

Alt O has the option of logging all channels and all p.m. windows by default, but you could /log off for individual windows for all networks.

But it wouldn't change the settings that I know of.

-Neal.

Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: LostShadow] #194038 28/01/08 06:44 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
R
r0uJe Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
Originally Posted By: LostShadow

Alt O has the option of logging all channels and all p.m. windows by default, but you could /log off for individual windows for all networks.


I think this is what I'll do because I want the settings that I have in IRC->Logging to take effect.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Re: how to log specific channels? [Re: r0uJe] #194060 28/01/08 09:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
You really should use the latest version of mIRC if you're going to use Vista. If your script doesn't support 6.31, then bug the developer(s) to update it.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net