mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
mirc wont open???? #193244 17/01/08 07:11 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
D
digforgold Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
every time i install mirc it will load up once i use it... come back another day i try to open it and nothing loads or comes up. i formatted my comp, tried again and still it wont load. no matter wat version i use it just wont even load. im using sygate. and it doesnt even ask through that to block it. and i have scanned for virus/trojan too and all clean. so i dont see why this wont load up??? whats goin on?

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: digforgold] #193245 17/01/08 07:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 503
B
Bekar Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 503
What are you using for virus scanning? There are a number of virus scanners that treat mIRC as a 'Potentially unwanted program' or similar. Make sure it isn't on that list, then try again.


Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: Bekar] #193246 17/01/08 09:15 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
D
digforgold Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Originally Posted By: Bekar
What are you using for virus scanning? There are a number of virus scanners that treat mIRC as a 'Potentially unwanted program' or similar. Make sure it isn't on that list, then try again.



im not using a virus scanner. =/

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: digforgold] #193251 17/01/08 11:18 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
maybe thats the problem then, it can be a virus that infected your computer, if mirc.exe size are edited (wrong size), then mirc will fail to start. same goes if you renamed the exe file, mirc-script.exe will work, script-mirc.exe will fail.


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: digforgold] #193303 18/01/08 04:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
J
Joeyexa Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
J
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Try uninstalling, clearing all mIRC related files (app data) and registry entries - also check your windows firewall if it is activated - then download mirc and do a full installation
good luck

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: Joeyexa] #193387 19/01/08 04:30 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
D
digforgold Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Originally Posted By: Joeyexa
Try uninstalling, clearing all mIRC related files (app data) and registry entries - also check your windows firewall if it is activated - then download mirc and do a full installation
good luck


how would i go about clearing the registry enetries??
windows firewall is off too

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: sparta] #193388 19/01/08 04:32 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
D
digforgold Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Originally Posted By: sparta
maybe thats the problem then, it can be a virus that infected your computer, if mirc.exe size are edited (wrong size), then mirc will fail to start. same goes if you renamed the exe file, mirc-script.exe will work, script-mirc.exe will fail.


tried few diff spyware, and online virus scanners. and have no virus' show up. i tried renaming the exe files but same issue. =/
duno wats goin on.

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: digforgold] #193390 19/01/08 05:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
DJ_Sol Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
I think he was saying make sure you HAVEN'T edited the exe.

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: DJ_Sol] #193392 19/01/08 07:50 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
D
digforgold Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Originally Posted By: DJ_Sol
I think he was saying make sure you HAVEN'T edited the exe.


either wai, i done both just to make sure. editted or non editted.. still wont open =/

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: digforgold] #193495 20/01/08 12:48 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
DJ_Sol Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
got a window on a second story? or maybe a bridge nearby?


lol, sorry but honestly, if you have no firewall or AV software running, there is no reason why mIRC wouldn't work.

Does mIRC run on a 64bit OS? Is your OS 64bit? I can't think of any reason why mIRC wouldn't run on a clean machine (newly installed OS with nothing on it) besides operator error.

Re: mirc wont open???? [Re: DJ_Sol] #193499 20/01/08 01:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
D
digforgold Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Originally Posted By: DJ_Sol
got a window on a second story? or maybe a bridge nearby?


lol, sorry but honestly, if you have no firewall or AV software running, there is no reason why mIRC wouldn't work.

Does mIRC run on a 64bit OS? Is your OS 64bit? I can't think of any reason why mIRC wouldn't run on a clean machine (newly installed OS with nothing on it) besides operator error.


hrm its most likely the OS that i can think of. um im not sure if its a 64bit os, its a dual core amd. i dont think it is because ive had it workin on this same machine b4... =/