mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
/whois #1829 15/12/02 05:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
T
techman47 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
If you have "show whois in active window" checked, it does not work. It diplays the "whois" in in the status window

Re: /whois #1830 15/12/02 05:53 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 144
D
Dana Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 144
What version of mIRC are you using? Are you using any scripts that might interfere?

Dana


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic." - Arthur C. Clarke
Re: /whois #1831 15/12/02 10:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
D
Darkness Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Here, with 6.03, works perfecty...

Re: /whois #1832 15/12/02 12:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
P
Poppy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
Works for me too on v6.03


Never compare yourself to others - they're more screwed up than you think.
Re: /whois #1833 15/12/02 12:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
H
Hammer Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
While you are troubleshooting your problem, you might try the following ideas:
  1. Solution #1
  2. /remote off to turn your scripts off for a while
  3. //whois $me to see a whois on yourself in the active window
  1. Solution #2
  2. Rename mirc.ini to mircOLD.ini
  3. Restart mIRC.
  4. Start mIRC and make the change in Options to re-set Show Whois in active.
  1. Solution #3
  2. Rename mirc.ini to mircOLD.ini
  3. Reinstall mIRC.
  4. Start mIRC and make the change in Options to re-set Show Whois in active.


DALnet: #HelpDesk and #m[color:#FF0000]IR[color:#EEEE00]C
Re: /whois #1834 16/12/02 06:39 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 75
wyx Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 75
it's work to 5.92 toooooooo
hihihihih stil using 5.92 coz more fast connection on port 6667 than 6.*


-= Win 95 Virusses =-
-= Try To Infecting Virus =-
Re: /whois #1835 18/12/02 02:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
T
techman47 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
I was using v6.03 when it didn't work. I went back to v6.01.

Re: /whois #1836 20/12/02 02:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
T
techman47 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
The "whois" still doesn't work. I am running mircv6.03 now with WindowsXP. If I check the box to do a /whois in active window, it still displays in the status window and not the active window.

I don't understand why this works ok in mircv6.01 for me but not in mircv6.03. Could it be a WindowsXP thing?

Re: /whois #1837 20/12/02 02:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 75
wyx Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 75
did u have to re download it????????


-= Win 95 Virusses =-
-= Try To Infecting Virus =-
Re: /whois #1838 20/12/02 10:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
T
techman47 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Let me make myself clearer on the whois bug. I'm talking about when a user joins my channel I want the "whois" info displayed in the active window, not in the status window as it does.

Re: /whois #1839 21/12/02 01:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
H
Hammer Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
OK. That is not a bug then. It is working correctly. However, what you want to do is quite possible if you script all of the raw events yourself. Formats will vary, of course, based on IRCd (the server software that's going to send you the information. There are several possible design decisions that you could make (and might want to down the road), but as for just showing whois replies in the active window (what ever it happens to be, not where you issued the whois from), you can do something like this:
Code:

raw 311:*: echo $color(whois) -ati2 $2 is $+($3,@,$4-) | halt
raw 319:*: echo $color(whois) -ati2 $2 on $3- | halt
;  This next one is for use on DALnet.
raw 307:*: echo $color(whois) -ati2 $2- | halt
raw 301:*: echo $color(whois) -ati2 $2 is away: $3- | halt
raw 313:*: echo $color(whois) -ati2 $2- | halt
raw 317:*: echo $color(whois) -ati2 $2 has been idle $duration($3) $+ , signed on $asctime($4,ddd mmm dd hh:nn:ss) | halt
raw 318:*: echo $color(whois) -ati2 $2- | halt


DALnet: #HelpDesk and #m[color:#FF0000]IR[color:#EEEE00]C
Re: /whois #1840 21/12/02 02:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
T
techman47 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
I don't mean to sound like a pain, but I didn't need all that code when I was using mircv6.01. All I did in v6.01 was go to
file/options/irc and checked the box where it says "Show in active", it has several boxes you can check. I checked the "whois" box. Then when a user joined my channel, the whois info displayed in the active channel window, not in the status. I don't understand why it works ok in v6.01 but not in v6.03.

Re: /whois #1841 21/12/02 08:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
It works fine for me, did you check if any scripts you are running mite be interfering as Dana suggested?




ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet