mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
expanded echo ability #1744 14/12/02 10:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
N
NaquadaServ Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
Echo to the most recently active window on current network...

Like echo -a, but echo -r will not echo to a window on another network.

smile


NaquadaBomb
www.mirc-dll.com
Re: expanded echo ability #1745 14/12/02 11:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
A
Armageddous Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
A
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
/help /scid
Read the help file you [censored] . (:

Last edited by Merlin; 15/12/02 09:02 AM.

Insanity is a gift, and I guess I've been blessed.
Re: expanded echo ability #1746 15/12/02 12:39 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
N
NaquadaServ Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
I'm not asking for a way to script around the bug...


NaquadaBomb
www.mirc-dll.com
Re: expanded echo ability #1747 15/12/02 01:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 39
L
Larra Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 39
as Armageddous said.. it is easyly scriptable
scid $lactivecid echo -a text

what would you use -r for ?

Re: expanded echo ability #1748 15/12/02 10:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
N
NaquadaServ Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
Easy? Maybe, but not this "scid $lactivecid echo -a text" echo -a always echos to the active window regardless of what the scid is set to... Thus you see the logic of adding this argument to the echo command?


NaquadaBomb
www.mirc-dll.com
Re: expanded echo ability #1749 15/12/02 12:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
There can only be one active window, so /scon 2 echo -a lala will echo lala on the active window, regardless of what you specify instead of 2 (supposing such an scon exists). If you don't want it to echo to the active window don't specify the -a switch, specify a window name instead.

Re: expanded echo ability #1750 15/12/02 02:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
But the thing is that echoing to the last active window for a certain connection isn't very useful to 99.9% of people (if it is in fact useful to anyone). The entire point of echoing to the active window is so that the user can see the message instantly, echoing to a window which isn't active anymore is pointless since they still have to change windows to see what's being said, except now they have to remember which window was last active. If you want something to be echoed to a window based on connection, use the Status window of that connection instead.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: expanded echo ability #1751 16/12/02 07:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
N
NaquadaServ Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 580
I like to not echo everything to the status window... There are some lines of text that I would want in the active window, if I was using that network. Those same lines I would not want in the active window while using a different network.

Prehaps then an argument that works like echo -a, but will not echo to active if $cid is not $activecid, instead it will echo to the status window on the same network. Does this sound more useful? Why are you all so against this?


NaquadaBomb
www.mirc-dll.com