mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#163621 02/11/06 04:47 PM
T
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
T
Hi there im pretty new to this :S so be nice...

i dont know where to request a script so ill just ask and hope som1 helps out :P

im after a Runescape Mirc bot... one that returns on command prices of items and stats of a user into the channel that it is in... i need a script to put into my mirc...

thanks for any assistance...

Thardferr

Last edited by Thardferr; 02/11/06 04:52 PM.
#163622 02/11/06 09:34 PM
L
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
L
Im NOT saying it cant be done OR that it's a bad idea, that being said:

Ok, there's a number of potential issues here:

1) Can mirc talk to RS's servers or will Jagex cut off communication with it?
2) Will they consider this a macro of some kind and ban you?
3) Prices are impossible to predict since it is whatever the market will bear AND the best BALLPARK prices are on another website all together (though not accurate as they themselves claim)

That being said:

1) You'd need a huge database for items in many forms....... be it ores vs bars, armor normal vs trimmed, etc etc etc
2) As for the stats of a user, that shouldnt be TOO hard to do with sockets (and no, i cant help cause I dont know anything about it, but it would seem rather simple for those who DO know)
3) the other thing is since they changed the way the high scores works, you cant do (example):

username[/b].html]www.runescape.com/some-stuff/hiscores/username.html

It just doesnt work since they changed it. Hope this at least gives you a starting point idea of what to do. You'd need to know how to intercept certain info and manipulate it like other websites do. Again, Im not saying it CANT be done, Im simply offering things to consider

Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
#163623 02/11/06 10:03 PM
R
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
R