mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
idle time #142939 20/02/06 01:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
donkapone Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Hello,

So i`ve seen that other IRC clients (don`t want to mention particular names, but if you ask, i`ll tell you) you can see any people idle time in whois no matter in what server are you connected. On mIRC you can see the idle time only of the people that are connected to the same server (server, not network). So if you would be able to do that there would be able to see the idle time of people in any server, I would be very appreciated.

Regards,
Arturas

P.S. thanks for the unicode encoding smile


Arturas L. aka donkapone
Re: idle time #142940 20/02/06 01:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
/whois nick nick

maybe other clients do this by default I don't know, but this is the way mIRC does it


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: idle time #142941 20/02/06 02:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
donkapone Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
omg that's very cool! thanks! didn`t know that smile had problems for years about it and know the problem is solved smile


Arturas L. aka donkapone
Re: idle time #142942 20/02/06 03:27 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
Most of the time that won't work ...

(Just thought I'd point that out)


What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: idle time #142943 20/02/06 03:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
It always works. Just on some (rare) occasions the whois reply might take longer to come (due to server-to-server lag etc).


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: idle time #142944 22/02/06 02:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
R
Rikardo Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
R
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
I think "/whois nick nick" depends of the server IRCd's support.


My Network:
irc.ValeChat.org
(para Brasileiros principalmente) (for Brazilians)
Re: idle time #142945 22/02/06 02:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
Quote:

-
[14:34:34] -> Server: WHOIS Shizuru Shizuru
-
Shizuru is [email]ruri@atashi.ga.kawaiku.shite.agete[/email] * Jenika Martins
Shizuru using *.WorldGamers.Net WorldGamers IRC Network
Shizuru is an Network Administrator
Shizuru is logged in as Shizu
Shizuru End of /WHOIS list.
-

[14:35:30] -> Server: WHOIS G
-
G is G@Services.WorldGamers.Net * Channel Services
G using *.WorldGamers.Net WorldGamers IRC Network
G is an IRC Operator
G is a Network Service
G End of /WHOIS list.
-

[14:35:01] -> Server: WHOIS G G
-
G is G@Services.WorldGamers.Net * Channel Services
G using Services.WorldGamers.Net WorldGamers Network Services
G is a megalomaniacal power hungry tyrant
G End of /WHOIS list
-


(I know the 2nd one doesn't proove anything, I'm just demonstrating that I didn't typo the first one)


What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: idle time #142946 22/02/06 02:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
You might have some script that interferes. Apart from the fact that this has never happened to me on any servers I've been so far, I even tried the specific network in your examples (the only server I could find, irc.worldgamers.net) and the idle time always came back to me. Try again with /debug.


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: idle time #142947 22/02/06 03:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
FiberOPtics Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
I notice that all your examples show a /whois on an admin or services, that might be the reason. Type //debug @debug and try on a regular person. It may also very well be a marginal network that doesn't support this, but that doesn't warrant stating that it never works, as this has always worked for me on any network I've been on.

EDIT: I went on that server and saw my suspicions confirmed: all the network admins don't return an idle time, but regular users do.


Gone.
Re: idle time #142948 22/02/06 03:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
I know it works on non-admins and ircops ... I was just stating it doesn't work all of the time

Quote:

-
[15:16:31] -> Nano.MO.US.WorldGamers.Net WHOIS Ghozer Ghozer
[15:16:31] <- :Nano.MO.US.WorldGamers.Net 311 JigsWithoutWoodstock Ghozer Ghozer localhost.in-addr.arpa * :Colin
[15:16:31] <- :Nano.MO.US.WorldGamers.Net 312 JigsWithoutWoodstock Ghozer *.WorldGamers.Net :WorldGamers IRC Network
[15:16:31] <- :Nano.MO.US.WorldGamers.Net 313 JigsWithoutWoodstock Ghozer :is an Network Administrator
[15:16:31] <- :Nano.MO.US.WorldGamers.Net 330 JigsWithoutWoodstock Ghozer Ghozer :is logged in as
[15:16:31] <- :Nano.MO.US.WorldGamers.Net 310 JigsWithoutWoodstock Ghozer :is a Network Service
[15:16:31] <- :Nano.MO.US.WorldGamers.Net 318 JigsWithoutWoodstock Ghozer :End of /WHOIS list.

Last edited by Jigsy; 22/02/06 03:16 PM.

What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: idle time #142949 22/02/06 03:12 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
FiberOPtics Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Then why are you stating that it doesn't work most of the time?

You clearly see in your debug that on a regular user it returns the idle time. On the 5 networks I reside, even IRCops return an idle time. Just because this one network choose to disable the raw 317 reply for netadmins doesn't justify stating that doing /whois nick nick almost never works.

EDIT: heh, he deleted his post as he finally noticed he infact receives the raw 317 grin


Gone.
Re: idle time #142950 22/02/06 03:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Good catch. I wonder if Jigsy only whoises network admins on every-day irc-ing smirk


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: idle time #142951 22/02/06 03:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
FiberOPtics Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Quote:
I know it works on non-admins and ircops ... I was just stating it doesn't work all of the time

No you didn't know it! You deleted your original reply with the debug information that was supposed to show that you don't get the idle time, and when you realised you actually did get it, you quickly deleted your post. Don't try to back out of this with excuses.


Gone.
Re: idle time #142952 22/02/06 03:20 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 802
my original reply was just whois information ... I whois'd an IRC op thats why I deleted it

Last edited by Jigsy; 22/02/06 05:11 PM.

What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: idle time #142953 22/02/06 03:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 845
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 845
Not completely always - some network services that are implemented as servers, may not process incoming WHOIS requests at all. At least QuakeNet has had a few of those for a while.


Saturn, QuakeNet staff
Re: idle time #142954 22/02/06 03:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
So you mean that such a service might be in the middle of the link between two 'real' servers, so that a WHOIS from one would be stopped or something?


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: idle time #142955 22/02/06 03:34 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 845
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 845
Oh, no, these services had their own (virtual) clients as well. Doing /whois <nick> <nick> on the nicknames belonging to that service would result in simply nothing. It would still work on normal users.


Saturn, QuakeNet staff