mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Question about using hyperlink #140826 30/01/06 04:04 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 449
bwr30060 Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 449
I'm thinking about making a news headline bot using XML and possibly doing something similar with a weather bot. Is it possible to have the bot say a news headline and also have that headline be a clickable link to the Yahoo news story?

Last edited by bwr30060; 30/01/06 04:58 AM.
Re: Question about using hyperlink #140827 30/01/06 06:38 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 344
B
Bullseye Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 344
yes it is and it is also been done some times.
Here something about rss feed its a snippet and I didn't really read it.
I hope this is something you had in mind.
http://www.mirc.net/projects.php?go=1136351508&thread=31698&view=31926

Re: Question about using hyperlink #140828 30/01/06 02:34 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 449
bwr30060 Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 449
Thank you for the link. I already have it figured out how to retrieve the data I want. What I'd like to know is if it is possible to have my bot say a news headline in the channel and have that text be a link to the news story on Yahoo. Thanks.

Re: Question about using hyperlink #140829 30/01/06 02:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
mIRC doesn't support html style links, ie: <a href="www.site.com/page.html">Visit my cool site</a>. You can post a link www.site.com/page.html, and it will be clickable in mIRC, but you can't make other text link to a site. The best you could do is something like this:

<newsbot> Headline: "mIRC is the best IRC program in the world!" Story: www.mirc.com/get.html

The link at the end would be clickable, nothing else would be.

-genius_at_work

Re: Question about using hyperlink #140830 30/01/06 02:44 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 449
bwr30060 Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 449
Thanks. I had a feeling that was the case. That will be OK to do, I just wanted the title to be clickable if it was possible. Thanks again.

Re: Question about using hyperlink #140831 30/01/06 09:33 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
N
NeUtRoN_StaR Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
it would nice if mirc recognized some html tags

perhaps something to include in the suggestions

Re: Question about using hyperlink #140832 30/01/06 11:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 127
H
HAMM3R Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
H
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 127
This is possible using some of the html wrapper DLLs for mIRC, but of course those would only work for people who have them installed. So it's not very practical for a remote command.


-- HAMM3R (aka: alhammer)
http://www.HAMM3R.net