mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Tab key/control #121054 23/05/05 04:49 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
B
benjaminsisko Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Is there any way to use tabs for (text positioning) in a
dialog control (list/edit/combo ect) ?
for example so text can be entered at a specific tab or colume
or using the tab key when entering text into an edit box ect?

if not is there any likelyhood of tabs being implemented?

Thanx

Re: Tab key/control #121055 23/05/05 05:02 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
T
tidy_trax Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
You can't use tabs to align the text atm.
You could try using a hard space (not all have one, but most do) which is normally either $chr(160) or $chr(255)


New username: hixxy
Re: Tab key/control #121056 23/05/05 06:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
B
benjaminsisko Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10

yes i have looked at hard spaces,
but that would only work if used with a fixed width font smirk

Re: Tab key/control #121057 23/05/05 07:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Actually, hard spaces will work with variable width fonts as well. It just depends on the specific font.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Tab key/control #121058 23/05/05 08:31 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
B
benjaminsisko Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
which depends on what font a user has set his system/mirc font to...
what im actually trying to do is devide a single list contro into 3 coloumes as follows

data1 data2 data3
data4 data5 data 6

and so on.
without tabs the columes will not line up vertically.
i've concidered using 3 seperate list controls but then scrolling
the 3 controls simultaneously becomes very problemactic.

there should be multiple spaces/tabs between the columes but like mirc this editor has stripped them out.

Re: Tab key/control #121059 23/05/05 08:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
You might look into the different DLLs available (MDX, hOS, etc). One of those should have the ability to use columns in a list box, I would think.

That said, I would think there would be a way to lock two or more lists/scrollbars together so that doing something to one would do the same to another. I don't think this is possible without a DLL, but it would be useful.

You might also attempt checking for change of position of the scrollbar and then changing the position of the other list's scrollbar to match.

I do think we should have a $tab control for listboxes and combo boxes and all that.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Tab key/control #121060 23/05/05 10:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
B
benjaminsisko Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10

Hmmm, that MDX.dll looks very interesting and useful laugh
Know a good place to download it from with tutorials?

Thanx

Re: Tab key/control #121061 24/05/05 12:30 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
1. MDX & Reference
2. MDX Tutorials
3. MDX Studio, a visual dialog editor for mIRC that can draw MDX controls.

Re: Tab key/control #121062 24/05/05 12:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
The thing I don't like with MDX Studio is it wont let you add tabs to the dialogs. frown

Re: Tab key/control #121063 24/05/05 01:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
B
benjaminsisko Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10

Thank You Guys

thats just the ticket i was looking for smile

Re: Tab key/control #121064 25/05/05 11:29 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
M
Mpdreamz Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
make the tabs in dialog studio
then in MDX studio make several dialogs with the same width heights that correspond with the tabs and just add ,tab1 etc behind them :tongue:
i use MDX and dstudio and Abbyss all together as each does something the other does not lol


$maybe