mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#11817 18/02/03 01:41 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
M
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
I tried to create a folder with the name "global" and mirc gave me an error message:
* /mkdir: unable to create 'D:\MKS3.0\global'
but created the folder.
I tried with other names and mirc doesn't gave me an error message.
the command was: mkdir global
Is this a Bug or an error in my OS?

#11818 18/02/03 04:17 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 237
X
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
X
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 237
/mkdir global works just fine for me. no errors.



;Check for Life

if (%life == $null) {
goto getlife
}
#11819 18/02/03 04:23 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
yup tested on mine too works just fine too


D3m0nnet.com
#11820 18/02/03 04:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
P
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
P
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
That’s because he’s trying to create subdirectory without creating the main directory first…

Here is what he’s doing “/mkdir D:\MKS3.0\global”
Here is what we are doing “/mkdir D:\MKS3.0” and then “/mkdir D:\MKS3.0\global”


Kn0wledge Is Thee P0wer!!!!
#11821 18/02/03 04:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
not according to his post

Quote:
the command was: mkdir global


the reason it said the \MKS3.0\global part is because he changed the name of his mirc folder

we are testing his command exactly as he reported he used it and its working for us ..... altho if he has explained his command wrong then yes u have figured out why hes not able to do that ....... in that case its not a bug in mirc but one in his command


D3m0nnet.com
#11822 18/02/03 05:01 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
P
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
P
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
Exactly, thats what i was pointing out...


Kn0wledge Is Thee P0wer!!!!
#11823 18/02/03 05:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
actually ur saying hes typing something different than what hes stating

Here is what he’s doing “/mkdir D:\MKS3.0\global”
Here is what we are doing “/mkdir D:\MKS3.0” and then “/mkdir D:\MKS3.0\global”

i typed /mkdir global just as he said he did and as i said it worked for me ...... altho if he typed something different than what he stated he did i dont think anyone could clearly give him a correct answer???


D3m0nnet.com
#11824 18/02/03 05:11 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
P
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
P
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
Okay true, but “/mkdir global” definitely works, never known mIRC to be incapable of creating a folder in this manner, so I’m assuming he’s wording it wrong… He can correct me if I’m wrong...


Kn0wledge Is Thee P0wer!!!!
#11825 18/02/03 11:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 266
Z
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Z
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 266
if you wish to create multiple directories, try this out:
Code:
;Multi-Kreate Directory
;Idea: Create mutliple levels of directories at once.
;Usage: /mkd <folderpath>
;Example: /mkd system/seen script
alias mkd {
  if (!$1) {
    echo -a *** Syntax: /mkd <folderpath> Example: /mkd hello/whats/up
    } | else {
    var %_ $replace($1-,$chr(47),$chr(92)),%' 2,%" $gettok(%_,1,92)
    .mkdir $+(",%",")
    while ($gettok(%_,%',92)) {
      %" = $+(%",\,$ifmatch)
      .mkdir $+(",%",")
      inc %'
    }
  }
}


You won't like it when I get angry.
#11826 18/02/03 04:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
M
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
This problem was just when I create a folder with the name "global"
the path was not the problem so $mircdir is D:\MKS3.0\ on my computer.
But well if you all say it works fine, it must be an error in my OS.
thx

#11827 18/02/03 05:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
it is entirely possible it is just a glitch u had that one time have u tried deleting that one particular folder and then tryin to recreate it? just to see if it will reproduce this error?


D3m0nnet.com
#11828 18/02/03 06:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
M
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
No i try it perhaps 5 times.
creating folder with mirc - deleting with mirc
creating folder with mirc - deleting with windows
creating folder with mirc
always the same error message

#11829 19/02/03 12:11 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
and again ur saying it doesnt do this with any other directory ur tryin to create ??? ....... if thats the case it seem like its just something specific to u ........ as ive tested the command uve said uve used and had no errors at all sorry if i cant be of any real help


D3m0nnet.com
#11830 19/02/03 07:48 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Check if you have a /mkdir alias, which for some reason doesn't like "global".
//echo -a file: $isalias(mkdir).fname
If there is an alias named /mkdir, this command will tell you the filename.


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
#11831 20/02/03 09:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
M
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
No i have no /mkdir alias, I use a "blank" mirc.
If someone test it, can he/she write down which OS he/she use.
I use Windows 2000 Professional, Service Pack 3 (5.0 - 2195)

#11832 20/02/03 09:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
M
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Now I tried standart Installation of mIRC in c:\mirc\
My Command: /mkdir global
The Error Message:
-
* /mkdir: unable to create 'C:\mirc\global'
-

But The Folder exists: C:\mirc\global

No Scriptfiles were loadet and the Folder doesn't exists
I'm logged in as Administrator so there are no Problems in creating folders.

Here I test another foldername: /mkdir test

mIRC show no Error Message and created the folder:
C:\mirc\test

please help me I don't know why this happen.
Perhaps people with windows 2000 SP 3
perhaps only such people get an error.
thx

#11833 20/02/03 02:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 56
G
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
G
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 56

I use win2k pro (SP3 also), mIRC6.03:

* /mkdir: unable to create 'C:\mIRC\global'


Link Copied to Clipboard