mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
R
Razloz Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
This is what I have...

;(in remote section)

on *:TEXT:!roll:#addiction:{
/echo roll triggered
/roll $nick
}

also tried using:

on *:TEXT:!roll:*: { /roll $nick }

etc...

;(in aliases)

/roll {
var %d100 = $rand(1,100)
say 7,1 $1 rolls a %d100 out of a possible 100!
}

The alies works...and I've tried multiple different ways of setting up the on TEXT trigger but none seem to work...also on JOIN and on LEAVE don't seem to work...I've tried turning remotes on via /remote on aswell as making a new remote ini and nothing seems to work...I used this exact thing almost a year or two ago and it worked perfectly but I lost all my scripts due to a harddrive fire...any ideas?


- know thy self less ye be lost
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
maybe?

on *:TEXT:!roll*:#addiction:space{

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
R
Razloz Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
tried that...i've tried just about every combination of spacing and punctuation and nothing seems to work...it's acting like remotes are turned off...even when i turn it on with /remote on


- know thy self less ye be lost
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 681
M
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 681
I would say the problem is using the SAY command in the
alias, your probably getting an error in status window..
* You are not on a channel

on *:TEXT:!roll:#addiction:{
echo roll triggered
roll
}

alias roll {
var %d100 = $rand(1,100)
msg # 7,1 $nick rolls a %d100 out of a possible 100!
}

~ Edit ~
Actually, you don't even need to pass any parameters
to the alias, # and $nick are passed regardless.

Last edited by mIRCManiac; 06/06/05 01:47 PM.
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
R
Razloz Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
there's no error anywhere it just doesn't do anything...i've tried using echo instead of say aswell...and nothing seems to work...


- know thy self less ye be lost
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 681
M
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 681
Well what I posted above works here. Do you have
another ON TEXT event that could be effecting it?
Like Maybe on *:TEXT:*:#: or anything like that
above your !ROLL event in the same file?

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
mIRCManiac's code works here as well .. echo to status, and message to channel

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
R
Razloz Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
nope it's the only remote event i have...i've tried stripping all my aliases down aswell and nothing works...i'm starting to think my client got corrupt somehow


- know thy self less ye be lost
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
I usually find that,

1) the code is not in its own remote file, or
2) You're testing the ON TEXT event yourself. It will not trigger on your own text, so you need another client/person to do it.
3) Make sure you do not have 'alias roll {' in your Aliases section, otherwise it'll treat 'alias' as the alias name. The alias, in that format, must be in your remote file with the ON TEXT event (preferably)

I can't see a corrupted client causing this problem.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 681
M
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 681
Quote:
3) Make sure you do not have 'alias roll {' in your Aliases section


Good catch smile
Sorry about that Razloz.

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
R
Razloz Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
it's in it's own remote file...and the alias works perfectly by itself...i don't define it with alias roll...etc i tried just making it echo roll triggered to see if it was even getting the event and it isn't...i've been testing with friends so i know it's not working...


- know thy self less ye be lost
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
might sound dumb, but try using

/!remote on

with the !, i screwed myself up just the otherday by creating an alias remote { ... } forgot it was a command, then couldnt work out why i couldnt switch them on.

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
R
Razloz Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
yeah i dunno i'm about to go back to an older version of mirc or somethin because not having a working remote section isn't acceptable...btw this is message i get when i do /remote on aswell as /!remote on

* Remote is on (Ctcps,Events,Raw)

it seems to me that something got seriously messed up somehow so that it can no longer use the remote section...see the strange thing is i just started writing in scripts so it's a pretty much clean install...haven't sat in any channel other than my clan's channel which is passworded...so it isn't because of malicious attacks...and it's pretty much the only scripts i have in there...it's the one and only remote trigger...and i've only added like 3-4 aliases and that's it...so i dunno what coulda messed it up...anyways thanks for trying to help...i hope someone can figure out what's wrong with it so i don't gotta revert to an older version


- know thy self less ye be lost
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
try this:

//echo -a $isalias(roll).fname

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
maybe you got a custom ECHO alias in the remotes file, with a -l (actually i gessing, im nopt sure if u call a alias in another file if that echo alais would trigger if it had -l ?!?!?! omg im sure you would see that anyway!

ok try this

alt-r/file/new/add this line

on *:TEXT:*:*: { !echo -st AGGGHHHHH remotes are working $nick just said $1- }

now file/order/select the remote file you just made/move to top

/!remote on

Now if that dont work when someone else says some thing then well try this command

/sledgehamer -mo 0 1 hit pc

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
R
Razloz Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
ok awesome finally got it working after hours of messing around with it...problem was it not seeing the alias like you were saying...the first time i had tried putting the alias in the remote section with it didn't work cuz i had some kinda spacing problem i think but it's working now...thx a ton everyone! smile


- know thy self less ye be lost

Link Copied to Clipboard