mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
F
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
F
I'm very new to scripting and I've searched all over and ever document I've come across has been missing at least one bit of vital information.

I would like to read a line of text from a file, but where do I place the file that mIRC can find it? Or, if I can place it anywhere, how do I format the file path?

For context, I'd like to make a document containing a list of greetings and a script that compares incoming comments to that list and outputs a reply.

N
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
N
If you put it in the mircdir, type " //run $mircdir " then you can simply just type the file name, let's say it's "test.txt" in the scripts. Otherwise you will need to use the whole path to the file like $qt(C:\Users\Nillen\Desktop\test.txt)

Nillens @ irc.twitch.tv
Nillen @ irc.rizon.net
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
Expanding on Nillen's reply: in the scripting language, you can also use partial paths in commands and identifiers and these will be relative to $mircdir. This means that if you place the file cow.txt in $mircdir, you can access it using just $read(cow.txt). If you place cow.txt in folder "moo" in $mircdir, you can access it using $read(moo\cow.txt). In other words, you do not need to specify the full path, which makes the script more portable.

F
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
F
Thanks! Now I just need to figure out how to read a text file and spit out a random line. I'd think $read would serve my purpose but I've yet to find a proper code sample and don't know how to use it in context.

W
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
W
Khaled's example will actually do just that, return a random line from the file.
$read by default evaluates the line as though it was a line of code (if the line contains "$me", it will be evaluated to your nickname, this can be and is often the case, not desired).