mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#264875 - 22/01/19 01:34 PM ident multiple networks
chillout Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 12/01/19
Posts: 18
Maybe a dumb question but couldn't find it, I'm on 2 networks but how do I change the ident for network nr 2?
I use /server -m serveraddress
to connect to the second network.
Can I use /ident on otherident here in the above command?
Thank you.

Top
#264876 - 22/01/19 02:06 PM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: chillout]
Loki12583 Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 22/01/04
Posts: 1252
Check 'use email for ident' or similar in the options, then connect with the /server ... -i nick anick email

Top
#264878 - 22/01/19 09:30 PM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: Loki12583]
chillout Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 12/01/19
Posts: 18
I will try that later when I'm arrived. Would be nice if mIRC got a option to edit your nick, anick, username, ident per network.


Edited by chillout (22/01/19 09:35 PM)

Top
#264891 - 26/01/19 02:56 PM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: chillout]
chillout Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 12/01/19
Posts: 18
Sorry but I don't get that to work properly with an custom ident. Can I request this as a future suggestion?

Top
#264892 - 27/01/19 10:45 AM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: chillout]
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 18/02/03
Posts: 2547
I suspect you may be mincing terminologies. IDENT is a UNIX/IRC terminology for the IDENTD (TCP port 113) service, and by extension, the username portion of your nick![~]user@host address.
However, you are probably asking about NickServ identification ("identify") authentication instead.
_________________________
At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!

Top
#264893 - 27/01/19 11:45 AM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: Raccoon]
chillout Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 12/01/19
Posts: 18
Thank you, no I don't mean something about NickServ, I'm asking how to change the 'User ID' in mirc options > Identd, for multiple networks. Right now my mirc connects to a few different networks but always uses the same Úser ID'

[10:52:42] chillout [~test@host.com] has joined #mirc on EFNET

[10:52:45] chillout [~test@host.com] has joined #mirc on IRCnet

[10:52:47] chillout [~test@host.com] has joined #mirc on DALNET

So I just want to change 'test' for the other network(s).


Edited by chillout (27/01/19 11:54 AM)

Top
#264894 - 27/01/19 03:07 PM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: chillout]
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 18/02/03
Posts: 2547
In that case, Loki12583 gave you the correct instructions. By setting Connect -> Identd -> "[x] Use ID from email address", you will bypass the "User ID" field in that settings window with the "Email:" field from the main Connect dialog... which can also be specified with the "/server -i mnick anick email realname" switch.
_________________________
At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!

Top
#264895 - 27/01/19 04:45 PM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: Raccoon]
chillout Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 12/01/19
Posts: 18
Like I said before: that doesn't work for 3 networks. I use this code for that:
Code:
on 1:START:{ 
/server -m efnet.portlane.se:6667 -i mnick1 anick1 userID1 realname1
/server -m irc.swiftirc.net:6667 -i mnick2 anick2 userID2 realname2 
/server -m bitcoin.uk.eu.dal.net:6667 -i mnick3 anick3 userID3 realname3 
}

It sets the mnick, anick and the realname correct, but NOT the userID(1,2,3). Yes, the 'use Ident from email address' is [x] (ticked). mIRC uses one ID for all networks (7.54)
Anyone got luck with this? Can you otherwise show me a working example Raccoon?
Thanks in advance.


Edited by chillout (27/01/19 05:26 PM)

Top
#264896 - 27/01/19 05:58 PM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: chillout]
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 19/04/04
Posts: 832
Loc: The Netherlands
At least in the old days, it used to be necessary to append an '@' to the user IDs (eg "userID1@"), in order to trick mIRC into thinking it is an email address. Maybe that still makes a difference?
_________________________
Saturn, QuakeNet staff

Top
#264901 - 28/01/19 03:52 AM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: Sat]
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 18/02/03
Posts: 2547
What Sat said. I remember that cropping up too.

Khaled, can we fix that? Remove the requirement for the @ in the "email" field. If the @ is omitted, then the "[x] Use ID from email address" option is ignored.
_________________________
At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!

Top
#264903 - 28/01/19 01:03 PM Re: ident multiple networks [Re: Sat]
chillout Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 12/01/19
Posts: 18
That definitely makes sense Sat, now it is working like it should (technically), only... need people have code/scripting experience to make a custom UserID for each network? Isn't it easyier for endusers to implement that in the mirc options > servers/network > edit > popup ? Just a suggestion. Thanks Sat & Raccoon for now.

Top